Round 13 of the FIM MX1/MX2 Motocross World Championship took place at Matterley Basin in Winchester, Hampshire, England, the site of the 2006 MX Of Nations. While it appears that both the MX1 and MX2 championships are locked up, if battles like those seen in at the GP Of Great Britain continue in these final three rounds, it will be open season between Europe’s top racers.


Red Bull KTM’s Antonio Cairoli dominated the day with 1-1 finishes, while his closest competition suffered from inconsistent motos. This allowed the European racing icon to score a clean 50 points over Clement Desalle, stretching his gap to 55 markers over the “MX Panda.” DeSalle’s weekend was mired with a hand injury due to a crash during Saturday’s qualifying heat. In his second race of the season, Max Nagal grabbed the runner-up spot with 2-2 scores aboard his Red Bull KTM. Nagal has missed much of the season with a back injury, and although he ran in the front pack, stated he is missing the fitness and stamina to duel for the overall win. Gautier Paulin of the Kawasaki Racing Team rounded off the podium after notching 4-3 scores, giving the Frenchman his first podium in six rounds.

MX1 Results

1. Antonio Cairoli 1-1
2. Max Nagal 2-2
3. Gautier Paulin 4-3
4. Ken de Dycker 3-5
5. Xaiver Boog 5-6

MX1 Point Standings

1. Antonio Cairoli 542pts
2. Clement DeSalle 487pts
3. Christophe Pourcel 452pts
4. Gautier Paulin 450pts
5. Ken de Dycker 404pts


Floride/Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s┬áTommy Searle was able to check one task of his bucket list at Matterley, as the English native took the win at his “home” GP over rival Jeffrey Herlings. The Red Bull KTM racer and current MX2 points leader pressured Searle for the lead in both motos, but twice hit the ground while giving chase. Zach Osbourne claimed his second straight podium finish at the British GP, which has helped the American rebound in his final season abroad. As it stands, 51 points separate Herlings and Searle for the MX2 championship as they head to the Lierop, the 14th round of the 16-stop series.

MX2 Results

1. Tommy Searle 1-1
2. Jeffrey Herlings 2-2
3. Zach Osborne 3-4
4. Jeremy van Horebeek 5-3
5. Jake Nicholls 4-5

MX2 Point Standings

1. Jeffrey Herlings 572pts
2. Tommy Searle 521pts
3. Jeremy van Horebeek 475pts
4. Joel Roelants 367pts
5. Jake Nicholls 359pts