Hofmaster Comes Back to Grab His First Win of the Season in Reading!

Demuth Increases Championship Points Lead with Victory in the 450 Class

Reading, PA January 7, 2006 ¿ Mike Kidd Entertainment Group ¿ wrapped up round seven in Reading, PA where thousands of fans turned out to witness the first victory for Hofmaster and the changing of the guard in the Championship Points race.

Following the intense racing that took place on Friday night in Reading and the disqualifications of Hofmaster and Lacey, the K&N presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota stepped it up yet another notch as the racing continued to keep fans on the edge of their seats throughout the program.

A great crowd in Reading greeted the riders and were treated to some of the closest racing in years as the battle for the points and the journey to the record payout continues to heat up each week.

In the 250 Main Event Sano Systems PPG Shogun Yamaha rider, Tommy Hofmaster, led the field to the first turn in what would become another epic battle in the BooKoo series.  Local favorite, Damien Plotts, on the Babbitt Enxus Kawasaki was close in tow with Shane Bess on the Fun Center TLD PPG Suzuki in the third position early on.

Hofmaster was running like a dog off the leash after being disqualified from the 450 Main Friday night.  The Texan set a solid pace from the start and wasn’t going to settle for second place tonight, putting distance between himself and Plotts in the early laps and taking the victory ¿ his first one of the season. 

Michael Blose, Friday night’s 250 Main Event winner, would make his way through the field and into second place as Bess washed out in a corner, relinquishing the position on lap 13.  Current championship points leader and two-time Arenacross champion Josh Demuth put his Babbitt Enxus Kawasaki on the podium with a solid third place finish, further securing his lead in the overall point standings.

As the gate dropped for the 450 Main Event, Plotts put his Babbitt Enxus Kawasaki in front early as the fans cheered on their local hero.  Shane Bess was second with Demuth and Hofmaster following.

Demuth made his way past Bess on lap three and set his sights on teammate Plotts as Hofmaster continued to gain ground on Bess.  Demuth would get past Plotts in the early laps and set the pace for the remainder of the race while Hofmaster and Bess traded punches in a heated battle for the third and final spot on the podium.  The two were actually touching as they soared over the catapult jump.  Plotts would bobble in the rhythm section on lap 18 allowing Bess and Hofmaster to take home second and third place respectively. 

When the dust settled, Demuth would find himself in a familiar spot atop podium once again while Bess and Hofmaster rounded out the top three.

Damien Plotts put some extra coin in his pocket as he took home the victory in the Dash For Cash and Rob Burkhart grabbed some dollars as he received the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute Top Tech Award for changing out a motor for Shane Bess in record time in order to get him on the line in Reading.  The MMI Top Tech Award is a staple of the BooKoo Arenacross and a great way to reward the mechanics for going above and beyond for their riders.

The action continues next week as the series hits North Carolina and the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Winston-Salem for the 8th round of the 12-stop national tour.

Tickets for round eight are on sale at Ticketmaster locations, online at www.ticketmaster.com or charge by phone at 336-722-6400 with special kids discount tickets costing only $5!

250 Main:

  1. Tommy Hofmaster YAM
  2. Michael Blose HON
  3. Josh Demuth KAW
  4. Brad Hagseth SUZ
  5. Damien Plotts KAW
  6. Colt Humphrey YAM
  7. Shane Bess SSUZ
  8. Casey Hinson HON
  9. Dennis Jonon KAW
  10. Kurt McCabe HON
  11. Riley Kurosky HON
  12. Brad Ripple KAW
  13. David Sterritt KAW
  14. Tiger Lacey HON
  15. Jeremy Cook KAW
  16. Brady Sharp HON

450 Main:

  1. Josh Demuth KAW
  2. Shane Bess SUZ
  3. Tommy Hofmaster YAM
  4. Damien Plotts KAW
  5. Brad Hagseth SUZ
  6. Brad Modjewski HON
  7. Tiger Lacey HON
  8. Casey Hinson HON
  9. Colt Humphrey YAM
  10. Kurt McCabe HON
  11. Brady Sharp HON
  12. Dennis Jonon KAW
  13. Ronnie Stewart HON
  14. Brad Ripple KAW
  15. Steve Roman YAM
  16. Riley Kurosky HON

BooKoo Championship Points:

  1. Josh Demuth 462
  2. Josh Woods 392
  3. Tommy Hofmaster 381
  4. Shane Bess 364
  5. Damien Plotts 321
  6. Tiger Lacey 264
  7. Brad Ripple 263
  8. Riley Kurosky 223
  9. Colt Humphrey 220
  10. Casey Hinson 170
  11. Jeff Willoh 160
  12. Brad Modjewski 144
  13. Dennis Jonon 122
  14. Kurt McCabe 115
  15. Keith Johnson 101