Houston SX: RC Wins Again, Walker Surprise 125 Winner!

Team Pro Circuit’s newest recruit Eric Sorby of France snared the holeshot at the start of the 125 West Coast main event. A second-tunr pileup claimed several riders, among them series points leader James Bubba Stewart and Chris Gosselaar of the Amsoil Honda squad. Georgian Matt Walker gated near the front of the pack and wasted little time before taking control of the lead. Among the top front runners were Walker, Sorby, Danny Smith and Travis Preston.

Though he has ripped through the field before, Stewart struggled in Houston and could not find his way back into the top five. At the checkered flag, it was Walker earning the first big win of his career, ahead of Preston, Sorby, Ivan Tedesco, and Gosselaar, who recovered well from his first-turn spill.

Team Yamaha’s Timmy Ferry holeshot the 250 main event aboard his big YZ426F and was followed by Ezra Lusk and Nathan Ramsey in the opening laps. RC and Vuillemin were the riders everyone was focused on, however, and both riders started within the top six. The Cobra tangled with Jeremy McGrath in the early going and crashed back to about 10th, but fought his way back to an eventual fourth. Ironically, the last rider he passed back was MC, who ran high as second before slowing in the closing stages.

Ramsey assumed the lead when Ferry crashed out, and the CRF450R pilot rode impressively as he fended off the advances of his Honda teammate Carmichael. Just past the halfway point, RC made the pass and began to inch away, but Nate Dog kept RC honest with a solid second-place performance. Lusk ended up third, just ahead of Vuillemin and McGrath.

125cc Western Regional Main1. Matt Walker, Kawasaki2. Travis Preston, Honda3. Eric Sorby, Kawasaki4. Ivan Tedesco, Yamaha5. Christopher Gosselaar, Honda6. Andrew Short, Suzuki7. Brock Sellards, KTM8. Travis Elliot, Honda9. Craig Decker, Yamaha10. James Stewart, Kawasaki

125cc Western Regional Supercross Season Standings1. James Stewart 115 pts2. Travis Preston 105 pts3. Ivan Tedesco 100 pts4. Christopher Gosselaar 92 pts5. Brock Sellards 91 pts6. Keith Johnson 69 pts7. David Pingree68 pts8. Travis Elliot 68 pts9. Rodrig Thain 64 pts10. Craig Decker 60 pts

250cc Main1. Ricky Carmichael, Honda2. Nathan Ramsey, Honda3. Ezra Lusk, Kawasaki4. David Vuillemin, Yamaha5. Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha6. Ernesto Fonseca, Honda7. Heath Voss, Honda8. Jason Thomas, Yamaha9. Kyle Lewis, Honda10. Damon Huffman, Suzuki

250cc EA SPORTS Supercross Points1. Ricky Carmichael 234 pts 2. David Vuillemin 217 pts 3. Ezra Lusk 168 pts 4. Jeremy McGrath 160 pts5. Stephane Roncada 157 pts6. Nathan Ramsey 139 pts 7. Ernesto Fonseca 122 pts8. Mike LaRocco 120 pts 9. Heath Voss 118 pts10. Nick Wey 114 pts