Maxxis U.S. Open: Friday Night Results

This web report is just like the action on the track at the MGM Grand Garden Arena…all quick and dirty. In the 125cc Heat Races, it went down like this:

125cc Heat 1

  1. Kelly Smith
  2. Steve Boniface
  3. Michael Blose
  4. Broc Hepler
  5. Troy Adams

125cc Heat 2

  1. Brock Sellards
  2. Mike Brown
  3. Chris Gosselaar
  4. Ryan Mills
  5. Tim Weigand

In the Pro Circuit 125cc Pro Class main, it was an all four-stroke podium, and a debut win for the Honda CRF250R. After a holeshot by Yamaha/Boost Mobile/Troy Racing’s Kelly Smith, Amsoil Chaparral Honda’s Chris Gosselaar quickly moved into the lead and was never challenged again. Moto XXX’s Troy Adams passed Smith about halfway through the main, and hung on for a solid second place finish. Things got tight near the end for Kelly Smith, and’s Andrew Short threatened to break up the four-stroke party, but Smith hung on to take the final spot on the podium. On the podium, Goose said he’s been working on the intensity of his first few laps while out at the Honda track with Ernesto and Nate Ramsey.

Pro Circuit 125cc Pro Class Main Event

  1. Chris Gosselaar
  2. Troy Adams
  3. Kelly Smith
  4. Andrew Short
  5. Broc Hepler

All the heavy-hitters you’d expect in the 250cc class are in Vegas…well, with the exception of Bubba. You’ll have to wait for Anaheim for that.

Heat races looked like this:

250cc Heat 1

  1. Ricky Carmichael
  2. David Vuillemin
  3. Nick Wey
  4. Nate Ramsey
  5. Ryan Clark

250cc Heat 2

  1. Chad Reed
  2. Ernesto Fonseca
  3. Mike LaRocco
  4. Andrew Short
  5. Grant Langston

When they launched off the line for the Alpinestars 250cc Pro Class main event, Honda’s Ernesto Fonseca grabbed the holeshot, but Yamaha’s David Vuillemin moved into the lead by the second turn. Behind them it was Honda’s Ricky Carmichael, Ernesto, Yamaha-mounted Chad Reed, and new Suzuki recruit, Nick Wey.

In the next couple laps, Amsoil Chaparral Honda’s Mike LaRocco went by Nick Wey, while Chad Reed block passed Fonseca to move to third.

Reed began to pull RC, and when RC started riding defensively, Reed moved into second and RC attempted to repass him, but Reed’s focus was already on trying to catch Vuillemin, and he quickly dropped RC.

Later in the main, LaRocco passed Ernesto for fourth, and Reed started closing on DV when he started running into lapped traffic (including making contact with Nicky Wey on the last lap). Unfortunately for Reed, he ran out of time and DV took the win and set himself up nicely for a possible $100,000 payday if he can outpace the competition tomorrow night.

Alpinestars 250cc Pro Class Main Event

  1. David Vuillemin
  2. Chad Reed
  3. Ricky Carmichael
  4. Mike LaRocco
  5. Ernesto Fonseca