Mike LaRocco Daytona Preview

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., (March 1, 2004) — Taking advantage of a good start (5th) in the main event, Team Amsoil/Chaparral/Honda/Factory Connection’s Mike “The Rock LaRocco blazed to his fifth podium finish (3rd) of the year in the 2004 THQ/AMA Supercross Series and closed the margin between him and rival David Vuillemin in the overall points chase for the final 250cc class podium position.

Vuillemin leads LaRocco by a mere three points (170-167) in the race for third place overall in the 250 class.

LaRocco, who took some momentum into the main by making it out of his heat race (something he hasn’t done consistently all year), was ‘fairly’ pleased with his performance in Atlanta this past weekend and is looking forward to extending his main event success when the series rolls into Daytona this Friday.

“I’ve been doing this for some time now and you’d think I’d be able to pull starts like that every race, said LaRocco. “But that hasn’t always been the case. I’ll take a good start when I can get it, especially this past weekend because I didn’t feel that great about how I was riding.” LaRocco said he felt “tight” in his heat and the main event.

This weekend will mark a milestone in supercross history when, if all goes as planned, LaRocco races in his 200th main event — an unsurpassed feat in the sport of supercross.

“Yeah, I think my first podium in the 250 class came at Daytona, said LaRocco (it did, in 1989). “Lately I haven’t done that well here, mostly because I’ve been injured. But I like this track. It’s extremely rugged and tends to ride more like a Nationals track in spots. I’m looking forward to getting after it. Note: Though LaRocco has never won Daytona, he finished second there in 2001 — the last time he’s raced the long-standing stop on the THQ/AMA Supercross Series tour.

The following weekend LaRocco and the Amsoil/Chaparral/Honda/Factory Connection Factory team will travel to St. Louis for Round 11 of the 2004 THQ/AMA Supercross Series.

THQ World Supercross Series/THQ AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Atlanta

  1. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
  2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
  3. Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda
  4. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
  5. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda
  6. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha
  7. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
  8. Michael Byrne, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki
  9. Tyler Evans, Canyon Lake, Calif., Honda
  10. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki