By Elmo

For the second consecutive year in a row, X Games played home to the Moto X racing event. For those who are living under a rock, the Moto X racing event at X Games is a Supercross track/race that takes place inside the Home Depot Center, and typically offers a lot of aggressive racing. Last year's Moto X Racing's gold medalist Ricky Carmichael was not part of the racing action this year, however, that did not put a damper on the event.

Just like a sanctioned AMA Supercross race, the X Games Moto X racing event featured qualifiers and an LCQ for those who were less fortunate to qualify directly from their heat race. Winning their heat races was: Josh Hansen, Josh Hill, Justin Brayton, and Charles Summey. Jason Lawrence and Troy Adams found themselves in a heated battle during their heat race, which featured several aggressive block passes and a classic brake check to look back produced by Lawrence himself. Adams would receive the short end of the stick in that battle as he ended up in the LCQ. Meanwhile, J-Law would secure himself a qualifying spot for the main event. The king of Supercross himself, Jeremy McGrath, ended up in the LCQ as well after hitting deck in his qualifier. MC, however, would go on to win this LCQ in dominating fashion.

Once the gate dropped on the main event, Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/Honda's Josh Hansen captured the holeshot and the early lead. Lil' Hanny wasted no time as he quickly pulled away from the rest of field, and within a couple of laps found himself with a comfortable lead over the rest of the field. Meanwhile, behind Hansen, McGrath, Hill, and Josh Grant were in a three-way battle for silver and bronze medals. Just before the halfway point of the race, Hill put forth a valiant effort to move around MC for the second spot. Unfortunately, Hill's legs came flying off the footpegs as he hit the face of a tiny triple. The outcome wasn't pretty as Hill went cartwheeling into the face of the next jump and his bike went flying – almost into the stands. While Josh spent a minute or two searching for his factory Yamaha, Hansen went on to capture the win and the gold medal while McGrath took home a silver medal and Grant took home bronze. At the end of the day, Honda couldn't have been happier as they swept the podium: gold, silver, and bronze.


1. Josh Hansen (HON)
2. Jeremy McGrath (HON)
3. Josh Grant (HON)
4. Charles Summey (YAM)
5. Justin Brayton (KTM)
6. Nathan Ramsey (YAM)
7. Josh Demuth (HON)
8. Troy Adams (HON)
9. Jason Lawrence (YAM)
10. Josh Hill (YAM)