Patterson Earns another Championship Win

(Nov. 27, 2006) Bend, Or: Current WMA Pro National Champion, Jessica Patterson, logged in another Championship win to the 2006 books at the 4th annual Z1R Helmets WMA Cup, held Sunday, November 26th at the Cycle Ranch MX Park, in Floresville, Texas. The WMA pro race followed three days of impressive women’s amateur racing at the event.

In moto one Honda of Houston/Moto XXX rider Jessica Patterson barely edged out Fly Racing’s April Zastrow for the holeshot. Richardson’s RV/Yamaha’s Tarah Gieger was back in 5th position but moved into 2nd by lap two. Gieger was followed by Thor MX’s Vanessa Florentino and Casandra Regal and TMX/Thor’s Alisa Nix. Gieger rode strong but was unable to catch Patterson. Meanwhile, an exciting race for 4th was taking place between Florentino and Nix which gave way to Nix after several laps. Nix then set her sights on Regal passing her for 3rd with just a few laps to go in the moto. New comer Tatum Sik turned pro on Sunday and received the EMA Racing Hard Charger award.

Moto two was off to a dramatic start when Gieger returned from the sight lap to find that she had lost her fuel screw. Her mechanic was able to borrow one from Nix’s boyfriend Brad Kelly (Kelly # 171 had just pulled off from racing the 250cc Pro race and was nearby to watch the WMA Pro race) but not in time to start with the other racers on the pro gate. Patterson had again got the Girlyz Clothing Co. holeshot award and led to the checkers by a large margin. Regal was having another inspired ride maintaining second place for half the moto before crashing in the back of the track. She remounted quickly but appeared slightly disoriented in the mechanic’s area and was unable to finish the race. The race for 2nd was now between Nix, Team Green Kawasaki’s Elizabeth Bash and Florentino. Bash gave an amazing effort to pass Nix, but was unable to get by. Florentino was able to take advantage of the battle and passed Bash for 3rd with just two laps to go. Gieger worked her way up to 12th and received the EMA Racing Hard Charger Award.

Top 10 Pro Results:

  1. Jessica Patterson
  2. Alisa M. Nix
  3. Vanessa Florentino
  4. Elizabeth Bash YAM
  5. Tarah Gieger
  6. Ashley Boham
  7. Alex Haupt
  8. Tatum Sik
  9. Katie Mcguire
  10. Meika Cornelius

WMA Amateur Class Winners:

  • Intermediate: Jacqueline Strong
  • Novice: Ayla Cabus
  • Beginner: Shalee Wiseman
  • 35 +: Patrizia Colombo
  • 25 +: Patrizia Colombo
  • Collegegirl: Meika Cornelius
  • Schoolgirl: Jacqueline Strong
  • Supermini: Marissa Markelon
  • 85cc 12 & up: Rebecca Sheets
  • 85cc 7 – 11: Taylor Higgins
  • 65cc: Brandy Richards
  • 65cc 10 – 11: Amanda Maheu
  • 65cc 7 — 9: Brandy Richards
  • 51cc: Kaitlyn Morrow

Sponsors of the WMA Cup include Z1R Helmets, VP Fuels, Hitachi, Scott USA, Dunlop, Damzl Fuel Beverage, Kawasaki, Honda Rider’s Club of America, Girylz Clothing Co., Alpinestars, Thor MX Gear and Pro Clean.

For full results visit