Race Report:
Round One

Maxxis British Championships

Canada Heights, Kent, UK

A beautiful spring day greeted fans and riders alike at the historic old venue of Canada Heights, 40 miles outside London. Lady luck had smiled on the organizers with a dry week leading up to the event, which helped take away all the moisture left, by weeks of rain preceding the event. The track is a sand-based circuit with a slightly clay like feel as well, this leads to deep ruts and energy sapping conditions, survival of the fittest is an apt description.

The field of riders for this year’s series is as strong as ever and includes a good helping of GP riders as well as homegrown talent. This season also sees the participation of two riders from the States with Mike Brown riding for the CAS Honda outfit and Sean Hamblin riding for the Suzuki Swift team.

MX2 Moto One
Last years champion Carl Nunn took a storming holeshot in heat one but his lead didn’t last long as Carl slipped back quickly, a result of the painful back injury he received last week at Hawkstone. There were some unfamiliar faces up front and the top boys had to work hard from the start to pick up places. Tommy Searle went down on the first lap and came over the finish line dead last at the end of the lap. Brownie was working hard to move up the order after an ordinary start off the concrete gate. However as things panned out it was Shaun Simpson on board his Wulfsport Kawasaki who took the lead and took his maiden championship win. Gareth Swanepoel came in second and Irishman Martin Barr rounded of the podium on his Dixon Yamaha.

MX2 Moto Two
A similar start in the second moto saw Carl Nunn take the holeshot again and again he faded as his pain kicked. Sean Hamblin and Mike Brown got much better starts in the second race and as things settled it was Tommy Searle out front with Brownie tucked in second and Hamblin in third. Swanepoel was hassling #99 Hamblin and eventually passed him for third place and that’s how things stayed until the end with Searle making up for his poor first moto with a win in the second, Mike Brown came in behind him with the impressive Gareth Swanepoel coming in third.

MX2 Overall Results

  1. Gareth Swanepoel, Molson Kawasaki
  2. Shaun Simpson, Wulfsport Kawasaki
  3. Tommy Searle, Red Bull KTM
  4. Mike Brown, CAS Honda
  5. Sean Hamblin, Suzuki Swift
  6. Martin Barr, Dixon Yamaha
  7. Jason Dougan, Fork Rent Suzuki
  8. Lewis Gregory, Relentless Suzuki
  9. Tom Church, Molson Kawasaki
  10. David Willet, Bladez Honda

MX1 Moto One
A strong field is always going to produce good racing in this, the first MX1 race of the year. As the riders came roaring off the gate, it was Britain’s James Noble who took the holeshot under big pressure from Billy Mackenzie on the factory Kawasaki. Mackenzie nudged his way quickly into the lead on the first lap followed by the evergreen Gordon Crockard on his PAR Honda. Last year’s champion Ken De Dycker had a poor start and was having to work hard to make his way through the field. Mackenzie and Crockard were having a rare tussle up front and at the flag it was Crockard who took the honours from Mackenzie with the champ De Dycker in third.

MX1 Moto Two
Ken De Dycker got a much better start in race two and quickly went to the front where he would stay until the checkers. The racing behind De Dycker was tough at best, on a track that had deteriorated badly during the day leaving a lot of the field looking exhausted as they made their way round. Anderson, Mackenzie and Crockard were fighting hard for the other two podium spots as the top four opened up a sizeable gap on the rest of the field. De Dycker took his moment for his first win of the year and it was Brad Anderson who eventually came in second with Billy Mackenzie trooping in third.

MX1 Overall results>

  1. Ken De Dycker, CAS Honda
  2. Gordon Crockard, PAR Honda
  3. Billy Mackenzie, De Groot Kawasaki
  4. Brad Anderson, Pioneer Yamaha
  5. Jussi Vehvilainen, Honda 450
  6. James Noble, Miltitek Honda
  7. Lauris Freiburgs
  8. Marko Kovalainen, Honda
  9. Mark Eastwood, Wiseco Honda
  10. Jordan Rose, Albion KTM

Round 2 of the British MX Championships will be March 25 in Landrake.