Race Report: Southwick
2007 AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF

The AMA Toyota Motocross Championships returned to racing this weekend at Motocross 338 in Southwick, MA. After a long day of racing in Southwick’s deep sand, it was Ben Townley on top in the Lites class and RC with another 1-1 overall win in the premiere division.


Michael Willard led the pack into turn one, but Villopoto took over in the first corner and led Willard, Townley and Grant on lap one, while Lawrence was left picking his bike up in the second corner. Townley quickly took over second and set out to catch the defending MX Lites National Champion, while Grant did his best to keep up. Ryan Dungey, meanwhile, began to charge through the pack after a mediocre start, and found himself in fifth, behind Martin Davalos, by lap three.

Dungey began to pressure Davalos at the 10-minute mark and found his way into fourth shortly thereafter. Out front, Villopoto rode a steady, albeit uneventful race, finishing three seconds ahead of Townley, who put on a great charge in the latter stages of the race. After Townley came a considerable gap to Grant, who succumbed to a hard-charging Dungey on the last lap and was relegated to fourth. The charge of the moto was put on by Lawrence, who came back from his turn two crash to round out the top five.


  1. Ryan Villopoto
  2. Ben Townley
  3. Ryan Dungey
  4. Josh Grant
  5. Jason Lawrence
  6. Josh Hill
  7. Tommy Hahn
  8. Billy Laninovich
  9. Kyle Chisholm
  10. Robert Kiniry


Stewart ripped a fat holeshot at the start of the first Motocross moto and led his teammate Ferry, Carmichael, Mike Alessi and the rest onto the sandy course. RC displaced Ferry on the first lap and set out after Stewart, while Langston made some key passes on the opening circuit and began lap two in fourth.

Stewart enjoyed a three-second lead over RC at the start of lap five, but Carmichael turned up the heat and began to close in on that very lap. Nine seconds back came Ferry and Langston, and a bit after them was Davi Millsaps. GL found his way past Ferry on lap seven, and shortly thereafter Red Dog’s factory KX450F began to smoke and slow down.

During the middle of the moto, Stewart managed to pull back away from RC, but as the laps wore down, the champ put his head down and reeled the leader back in. To the delight of the crowd, RC found his way past and into the lead in the top section of the track and immediately began to put distance on Stewart. Langston, meanwhile, rode all alone in third, some 30 seconds ahead of Andrew Short, Gavin Gracyk and Alessi.

At the finish, Carmichael enjoyed a seven-second lead over Stewart, while Langston, Short, Gracyk, Alessi, David Vuillemin, Troy Adams, Ryan Mills and John Dowd rounded out he top 10.

“James got the holeshot and I got behind him, but he was going fast and I just could not pass him. I tried and tried, but then I sat back and figured I’d wait for endurance to become a factor,” said Carmichael after the first moto.


  1. Ricky Carmichael
  2. James Stewart
  3. Grant Langston
  4. Andrew Short
  5. Gavin Gracyk
  6. Mike Alessi
  7. David Vuillemin
  8. Ryan Mills
  9. Troy Adams
  10. John Dowd


Dungey grabbed the holeshot when the gate dropped on the second Lites moto and led Townley, Villopoto, Grant and Lawrence through the first lap. Townley leapt into the lead right at the start of lap three, but Dungey struck back immediately, retaking the point. Townley was having none of it, however, and forced his way past a second time, leaving the Suzuki rider to deal with Villopoto, who was also on the charge. The Lites Champ worked past on the next lap and set the stage for an int-team battle for the moto and overall wins.

After stalking his teammate for a few laps, Villopoto took over at the front with 10 minutes to go and put his head down, in hopes of pulling out to a comfortable lead. That plan was thrown out the window on the next lap, however, when a huge mistake by Villopoto let both Townley and Dungey back past. Villopoto remounted quickly, with fourth-placed Grant right behind him, but he regained his composure almost immediately and began to push Dungey for second. Three laps later, Villopoto snuck past the Suzuki rider and set out after Townley, but the New Zealander had already established a comfortable four-second cushion.

Meanwhile, a bit further back, Lawrence continued to impress by wearing down Grant and making his way into fourth on his Troy Yamaha.

At the checkers, Townley enjoyed a comfortable five-second lead and earned his second overall win of the season. Villopoto was second for second overall, while Dungey’s 3-3 was solid for third.


  1. Ben Townley
  2. Ryan Villopoto
  3. Ryan Dungey
  4. Jason Lawrence
  5. Josh Grant
  6. Kyle Chisholm
  7. Andrew McFarlane
  8. Matt Goerke
  9. Josh Hill
  10. Billy Laninovich


  1. Ben Townley 2-1
  2. Ryan Villopoto 1-2
  3. Ryan Dungey 3-3
  4. Jason Lawrence 5-4
  5. Josh Grant 4-5
  6. Kyle Chisholm 9-6
  7. Josh Hill 6-9
  8. Billy Laninovich 8-10
  9. Billy Ainsworth 12-11
  10. Robert Kiniry 10-13
  11. Dusty Klatt 13-12
  12. Tommy Hahn 7-20
  13. Andrew McFarlane 34-7
  14. Matt Goerke 40-8
  15. Daniel Sani 11-28
  16. Craig Dube 16-18
  17. Steve Boniface 23-14
  18. Jake Weimer 14-39
  19. Broc Tickle 28-15
  20. Tyler Medaglia 17-19


  1. Ryan Villopoto (138 points)
  2. Ben Townley (130/2 wins)
  3. Ryan Dungey (116)
  4. Josh Grant, Riverside (112/1 win)
  5. Jason Lawrence (101)
  6. Thomas Hahn (74)
  7. Josh Hill (63)
  8. Broc Tickle (58)
  9. Jake Weimer (55)
  10. Matt Goerke (46)


Stewart led the pack into turn one, but Carmichael snuck underneath him and stole the lead from the get go. Langston gated third, ahead of Alessi, Short, Ferry, and Millsaps. Unlike moto one, where RC and Stewart pulled away immediately, Langston latched in to the lead duo and made it a trio up front. Langston put a tremendous charge on around the halfway point and closed in on Stewart, pressuring him for the runner-up spot. GL pulled alongside Stewart as they began the seventh lap and made several bids for the position, finally taking it over at the start of the next lap. The crowd went nuts, obviously happy to see a new rider break into the top two spots.

Lappers came into play on the next lap, cutting Cool G’s moment in the sun short, as Stewart weaved through them more effectively and made his way back into second. Though Langston did his best to mount a second campaign for the position, he eventually settled into third at the checkers.

In the end, it was RC with another convincing moto win and his undefeated record at Southwick firmly intact. Stewart and Langston rounded out the podium.


  1. Ricky Carmichael
  2. James Stewart
  3. Grant Langston
  4. Tim Ferry
  5. Andrew Short
  6. Kevin Windham
  7. Davi Millsaps
  8. Mike Alessi
  9. John Dowd
  10. Troy Adams


  1. Ricky Carmichael 1-1
  2. James Stewart 2-2
  3. Grant Langston 3-3
  4. Andrew Short 4-5
  5. Mike Alessi 6-8
  6. Gavin Gracyk 5-11
  7. John Dowd 10-9
  8. Troy Adams 9-10
  9. David Vuillemin 7-12
  10. Kevin Windham 16-6


  1. Ricky Carmichael (147 points/3 wins)
  2. James Stewart (131)
  3. Grant Langston (101)
  4. Timmy Ferry (96)
  5. Andrew Short (93)
  6. Davi Millsaps (90)
  7. Kevin Windham (79)
  8. Mike Alessi (78)
  9. David Vuillemin (66)
  10. Michael Byrne (59)


  • Andrew Short 4-5
  • Mike Alessi 6-8
  • Gavin Gracyk 5-11
  • John Dowd 10-9
  • Troy Adams 9-10
  • David Vuillemin 7-12
  • Kevin Windham 16-6

    1. Ricky Carmichael (147 points/3 wins)
    2. James Stewart (131)
    3. Grant Langston (101)
    4. Timmy Ferry (96)
    5. Andrew Short (93)
    6. Davi Millsaps (90)
    7. Kevin Windham (79)
    8. Mike Alessi (78)
    9. David Vuillemin (66)
    10. Michael Byrne (59)