After a couple of weeks off, the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship roared into New Berlin, New York, for the ninth round at Unadilla. Fans from all over packed the wide-open track, and the racing action couldn't have been any better. In the 450 class, Ryan Villopoto took a commanding victory in both motos, and Dean Wilson took his first overall win of the season with an impressive 1-1 finish.

450 MOTO 1

Unadilla marked the first race for Justin Barcia where he would race for American Honda, and he did not disappoint. With an impressive holeshot, he led the pack of riders into the first turn. After the first lap, Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda's Christian Craig ran in the number two spot, while Jake Weimer, Ryan Villopoto, and Ryan Dungey followed suit. Craig and Weimer were not able to hold onto the second and third positions, however, as Dungey and Villopoto were on the move. By the seventh lap, Villopoto took over the lead with Barcia and Dungey close behind. Shortly after, Dungey started to put some work on Barcia, but the Honda rider fought him off. Barcia's fight for second didn't last that much longer, and Dungey was able to move forward a position. By that time, though, Villopoto was long gone. At the end of the moto, Villopoto, Dungey, and Barcia finished in the top-three.


1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
2. Ryan Dungey (Suz)
3. Justin Barcia (Hon)
4. Chad Reed (Hon)
5. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
6. Brett Metcalfe (Suz)
7. Mike Alessi (KTM)
8. Justin Brayton (Yam)
9. Christian Craig (Hon)
10. Kyle Regal (Suz)


450 MOTO 2

In the second 450 moto, Mike Alessi rocketed his Red Bull KTM into the first turn with Weimer, Barcia, Brayton, and Villopoto close behind. Villopoto was on the move, though, and he made his way all the way up to second place after the first lap. Weimer fell back into the fifth position, and Barcia as well as Dungey were able to advance. By the third lap, Villopoto made his way around the KTM rider, and he was gone from there. Soon after, Barcia and Dungey also made their way around Alessi. From there, Barcia and Dungey put on a battle that would last a few laps. Dungey would close in, but Barcia managed to close the door every lap. After the halfway point, Barcia and Dungey launched side by side on one of the many tabletops on the track, and the two riders collided into each other on the landing. The end result was with Barcia hitting the ground pretty hard, but Dungey managed to stay up. Barcia quickly remounted, and stayed in third. When the checkers flew, Ryan Villopoto took a 1-1 finish. Afterwards, Villopoto said that it was his birthday, and the overall win was a great present.


1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
2. Ryan Dungey (Suz)
3. Justin Barcia (Hon)
4. Mike Alessi (KTM)
5. Chad Reed (Hon)
6. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
7. Justin Brayton (Yam)
8. Andrew Short (KTM)
9. Kyle Regal (Suz)
10. Ricky Dietrich (Yam)

1. Ryan Villopoto (1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey (2-2)
3. Justin Barcia (3-3)
4. Chad Reed (4-5)
5. Mike Alessi (7-4)
6. Jake Weimer (5-6)
7. Justin Brayton (8-7)
8. Kyle Regal (10-9)
9. Jimmy Albertson (12-11)
10. Jake Canada (11-14)
450 Class Championship Standings (After 9 of 12 rounds)

1. Ryan Villopoto (391/7 wins)
2. Ryan Dungey (384/4)
3. Chad Reed (366/7)
4. Brett Metcalfe (262)
5. Mike Alessi (210)
6. Andrew Short (196)
7. Kevin Windham (193)
8. Jake Weimer (190)
9. Davi Millsaps (173)
10. Tommy Hahn (140)

250 MOTO 1

After the track was worked in from the 450 moto, it was time for the 250 class to line up to the gate. When the gates dropped, DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing/Yamaha's Gareth Swanepoel put the hammer down on the first lap, as he led the entire 250 class. Rounding off the top-five after the first lap were Baggett, Wilson, Musquin, and Lemoine. New Loretta Lynn's graduate, and AMA Horizon Award winner, Justin Bogle was quickly on the move on his Geico Honda, and he started to quickly pick off riders. By the third lap he made his way into the top-three, and he started to put a lot of pressure on Swanepoel. Wilson, on the other hand, had made his way into first and was checking out.

At the halfway point, Baggett and Tyla Rattray had moved into second and third, respectively, while Swanepoel and Bogle moved into fourth and fifth. By the end of the moto, Wilson took a commanding lead with his Pro Circuit teammates in second and third.


1. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
2. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
3. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
4. Gareth Swanepoel (Yam)
5. Eli Tomac (Hon)
6. Justin Bogle (Hon)
7. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)
9. Cole Seely (Hon)
10. Alex Martin (Hon)


250 MOTO 2

In the last moto of the day, Geico Honda's Jimmy Decotis grabbed a massive holeshot all the way from the outside, and kept the throttle wide open all the way around the first turn. Coming off of a win in moto one, Wilson was back on the move in moto two. On the third lap, Deano made his way into first, but he just about had the whole Geico Honda team behind him with Decotis, Bogle, and Tomac in second, third, and fourth. Tomac quickly made it around his teammates, and he set his sights on Wilson. While Bogle jumped into the top-three again, Baggett pushed him out of the third spot. With the top-three spread out, a battle was brewing between Kyle Cunningham and Martin Davalos in fourth and fifth. However, there wasn't enough time left for Davalos, and Cunningham secured fourth. As for Wilson, he took his first overall of the season by winning the second moto by almost 10 seconds.


1. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
2. Eli Tomac (Hon)
3. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
4. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)
5. Martin Davalos (Suz)
6. Justin Bogle (Hon)
7. Nick Paluzzi (Suz)
8. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
9. Malcolm Stewart (Suz)
10. Alex Martin (Hon)

1. Dean Wilson (1-1)
2. Blake Baggett (2-3)
3. Eli Tomac (5-2)
4. Kyle Cunninham (8-4)
5. Justin Bogle (6-6)
6. Marvin Musquin (7-8)
7. Martin Davalos (14-5)
8. Gareth Swanepoel (4-16)
9. Alex Martin (10-10)
10. Cole Seely (9-11)
250 Class Championship Standings (After 9 of 12 rounds)

1. Dean Wilson (396/7 wins)
2. Blake Baggett (371/8)
3. Tyla Rattray (353/3)
4. Kyle Cunningham (264)
5. Eli Tomac (239)
6. Gareth Swanepoel (200)
7. Broc Tickle (195)
8. Justin Barcia (181)
9. Martin Davalos (175)
10. Darryn Durham (148)