RC and Langston win Unadilla, Pastrana KO’ed

In the 125cc class, defending 125cc National Champion Travis Pastrana looked strong as he won the first moto ahead of arch rival Grant Langston, who is still only 90% healthy after suffering a separated shoulder earlier this season at Southwick. In the second moto, it looked to be much of the same as Pastrana led Langston by a comfortable margin as they took the white flag. On the last lap, however, Pastrana threw his factory Suzuki RM125 away, hit his head and took a dirt nap for nearly half a minute before coming to. Disoriented, Pastrana didn’t get back on his bike and finish until Langston and 20 other riders raced past. This marks the third time Pastrana has suffered a concussion this year – his first coming in spectacular fashion at the San Diego SX, then another during practice at Southwick. In the past, Team Honda’s Ezra Lusk has been the concussion posterboy, but Pastrana seems to have taken over that title.

Langston’s 2-1 moto scores put the South African on top for the overall win and also helped him gain 22 valuable points in the series championship. Pastrana now leads the Lion King, 271 to 249. On the day, Team SplitFire’s Mike Brown was second overall with consistent 4-2 scores. Inconsistency was the order of the day for the rest of the pack, as evidinced by Damon Huffman’s 8-5 moto scores foo third overall. Team Moto XXX’s Larry Ward rode great in moto one, finishing third, but the popular veteran collided with another rider mid-moto and injured his thumb. This is bad news for Big Bird, as he was fresh off his Red Bud National win and definitely gaining momentum.

In the 250cc division, Carmichael used consistency to score his 38th National win. In doing so, Ricky became the winningest outdoor motocross racer in history, breking the previous record set by the legendary Bob Hannah.

Tim Ferry was the star in the first moto, as he twisted the throttle on his big Yamaha YZ426F and reeled in RC. Red Dog passed his Florida neighbor with ease and pulled away with a convincing win. In the second go-round, Ferry’s luck ran out while he was running third. The front brake line on his factory YZ came loose and he was forced to pit, fearing that it would become wrapped in his front wheel. Even with the pit stop and no front brake, Ferry still finished seventh in the moto and third overall.

Sebastien Tortelli was the fastest rider on the track in moto two and scored the win with a comfortable lead over Carmichael. Unfortunately for Tortelli, he crashed several times in the first race and finished fifth. Second overall was his.RC now leads the series championship by 39 points over Team Suzuki’s Kevin Windham, who finished a solid fourth overall at Unadilla.

125 CLASS: 1. Grant Langston (KTM); 2. Mike Brown (Kaw); 3. Damon Huffman (Yam); 4. Nathan Ramsey (Yam); 5. Branden Jesseman (Hon); 6. Travis Pastrana (Suz); 7. Greg Schnell (Yam); 8. Mike Brandes (Yam); 9. Ernesto Fonseca (Yam); 10. Brock Sellards (KTM).

250 CLASS: 1. Ricky Carmichael (Kaw); 2. Sebastien Tortelli (Hon); 3. Tim Ferry (Yam); 4. Kevin Windham (Suz); 5. Ryan Hughes (Hon); 6. Mike LaRocco (Hon); 7. David Vuillemin (Yam); 8. Stephane Roncada (Kaw); 9. John Dowd (KTM); 10. Jean Sebastien Roy (Hon).