(Revised) 2004 Top AMA Supercross/Motocross National Numbers Announced

PICKERINGTON, Ohio (Sept. 18, 2003) — AMA Pro Racing has announced rider numbers for competitors in the 2004 AMA Supercross Series and AMA Chevy Trucks U.S. Motocross Championship.

National numbers are based on a system (established in 2000) that allows past champions, current champions and riders, who have earned a top-10 national ranking, to select and retain the same number from year to year.

According to John Farris, AMA Pro Racing’s Vice President, Commercial Development, there is strong marketing value associated with a rider retaining a particular number. “Notable motocross riders that have become connected with their numbers include Ricky Carmichael (4), James Stewart (259) and Travis Pastrana (199),” said Farris. “This allows the riders and their sponsors to utilize a recognizable symbol in association with their image. The commercial possibilities are vast.” As an example, former 500cc World Grand Prix Champion and current AMA Pro Racing board member Kevin Schwantz markets a line of “Brand 34” casual wear around his former number.

Current AMA National Champions can carry the No. 1 plate. Numbers 2 through 9 are reserved for past National Champions in active competition, or they may select any available number. Riders ranked in the top-10 in combined Supercross and Motocross points can choose a Career Number from 10-999 (as indicated below), which they keep until they withdraw from competition or fail to earn a National point. Riders outside the top-10 in combined points are assigned consecutive numbers through 99 based on year-end points. Riders outside the top-99 can keep their 2003 racing numbers by renewing their AMA Pro Racing licenses for the 2004 season before Nov. 20 2003.

2004 AMA Supercross/Motocross National Numbers
No.; Rider, hometown
3* Mike Brown, Johnson City, TN
4* Ricky Carmichael, Havana, FL
5* Mike Larocco, South Bend, IN
6* Steve Lamson, Camino, CA
7* Greg Albertyn, Coto De Caza, CA
8* Grant Langston, Lake Elsinore, CA
10* Larry Ward, Florence, SC
11* Ezra Lusk, Bainbridge, GA
12* David Vuillemin, Corona, CA
14* Kevin Windham, Centreville, MS
15* Tim Ferry, Largo, FL
16* John Dowd, Ludlow, MA
17* Robbie Reynard, Oklahoma City, OK
18* Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, OH
19* Doug Henry, Torrington, CT
20* Damon Huffman, Canyon Country,CA
21* Stephane Roncada, France
22* Chad Reed, Australia
23* Kyle Lewis, Henderson, NV
24* Ernesto Fonseca, Canyon Lake, CA
25* Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, CA
26 Michael Byrne, Lake Elsinore, CA
27* Nick Wey, Dewitt, MI
28 Heath Voss, Mico, TX
29 Ivan Tedesco, Lake Elsinore, CA
30 Craig Anderson, Corona, CA
31 Keith R Johnson, Albuquerque, NM
32 Andrew Short, Colorado Springs,CO
33 Kelly Smith, Ludington, MI
34 Clark Stiles, Athens, AL
35 Chris Gosselaar, Corona, CA
36 Sean Hamblin, Sun City, CA
37 Eric Sorby, Murrieta, CA
38 Jason Thomas, Melrose, FL
39 Michael Brandes, Aptos, CA
40 Brett Metcalfe, Temecula, CA
41 Brian Gray, St. Augustine, FL
42 Steve Boniface, Temecula, CA
43 Ryan Clark, Albuquerque, NM
44 Ryan Mills, Clintondale, NY
45 Joaquim Rodrigues, Temecula, CA
46 Daryl Hurley, Riverside, CA
47 Matthieu Lalloz, Corona, CA
48 Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, NY
49 Branden Jesseman, Fombell, PA
50 Josh Woods, Flint, MI
51 Josh Demuth, Haslet, TX
52 Greg Schnell, Rancho Cucamonga, CA
53 Robert Kiniry, Skaneateles, NY
54 Steve Mertens, Sonoma, CA
55 Casey Lytle, Saugus, CA
56 Tim Weigand, Chatsworth, CA
57 Joe Oehlhof, Hesperia, CA
58 Tyler Evans, Canyon Lake, CA
59 Danny Smith, Middleton, ID
60 Broc Hepler, Kittanning, PA
61 Troy Adams, Brooksville, FL
62 Travis Preston, Hesperia, CA
63 Keith S Johnson, Carver, MA
64 James Povolny, Mendota Hts, MN
65 Richie Owens, Wildomar, CA
66 Damien Plotts, Millmont, PA
67 Jean Sebastien Roy, PQ, Canada
68 Joshua Hansen, Elbert, CO
69 Bobby Bonds, Bakersfield, CA
70 Brian Mason, Nashville, IL
71 David Pingree, Temecula, CA
72 Tony Lorusso, Rocky Hill, CT
73 Evan Laughridge, San Jacinto, CA
74 Erick Vallejo, Mexico
75 Billy Laninovich, Escondido, CA
76 Michael Treadwell, Enfield, CT
77 Ted Campbell, Meridian, ID
78 Kevin W Johnson, Albuquerque, NM
79 Doug Dehaan, Ontario, Canada
80 Josh Summey, Stanley, NC
81 Marco Dube, PQ, Canada
82 Craig Decker, Lake Elsinore, CA
83 Michael Blose, Phoenix, AZ
84 Tyson Hadsell, Hudson, FL
85 Jeremias Israel, Laguna Beach, CA
86 Ty Wallace, Phoenixville, PA
87 Jeff Gibson, Westerville, OH
88 Buddy Antunez, Temecula, CA
89 Blair Morgan, Prince Albert, Canada
90 Paul Veracka, Bridgewater, MA
91 Brad Modjewski, Hatley, WI
92 Ryan Dudek, Long Beach, CA
93 Tommy Hofmaster, Pearl City, IL
94 Dustin Nelson, El Cajon, CA
95 Turbo Reif, Atascadero, CA
96 Barry Carsten, Bayville, NJ
97 Jeremy Chaussee, Lancaster, CA
98 Tom Welch, Charlotte Hall, MD
99 Bruce Stratton, Clifton Springs, MD
103* Sebastien Tortelli, Temecula, CA
199* Travis Pastrana, Davidsonville, MD
259* James Stewart Jr, Haines City, FL
* Career National Numbers

Visit www.USMotocross.com for the complete list of National Numbers as they are assigned after the Nov. 20, 2003 deadline.

For immediate post-race results, points, live transponder scoring, in-depth series and rider information, regular columnists and much more, log onto www.USMotocross.com.

About AMA Pro Racing

AMA Pro Racing is the leading sanctioning body for motorcycle sport in the United States. Its properties include the AMA Supercross Series, the AMA Chevy Trucks U.S. Motocross Championship, the AMA Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbike Championship, the AMA Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Championship and the AMA Red Bull Supermoto Championship. Nearly 2 million race fans attended AMA Pro Racing events during the 2002 season.

For more information about AMA Pro Racing, visit www.amaproracing.com.