Seely Takes The 250 Main | 2014 Seattle SX

While the 450 title is all but decided, the 250 West Coast championship ventured into Seattle with only 11 points separating the leaders. Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Jason Anderson started the night off in Saturday ahead in the title hunt, but Seely would leave the Pacific Northwest only eight points behind with one more round to go when Supercross heads to Vegas in three weeks.

Monster Energy Supercross 250 West Coast Regional Championship

Cole Seely | 1st Place

With only two rounds remaining in the 250 West Coast series, Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Cole Seely needed to do only one thing to keep his title hopes alive: win. After a near disastrous heat race which dropped Seely to last on the first lap, he fought his way back into the top nine to advance into the main. Seely would prevent the same thing from happening in the main after jumping off the gate and pulling a second-place start behind Dean Wilson. Seely quickly made the pass to move into first, and despite a chaotic race behind him, he was able to put his head down and build his lead. Seely went on to take the win, and confirmed that the championship will still be up for grabs when the final race gets underway in Vegas in three weeks.

 Jason Anderson | 2nd Place

Points leader Jason Anderson didn’t extend his lead in the championship, but after a wild main event, the second place that resulted was a good end to the night. Anderson fought his way through the pack from seventh-place following the gate drop, and after quickly working his way up into second place, a small crash from washing out his front-end dropped him back into third behind Justin Hill. Anderson remounted and caught back up to Hill, retaking second place after an intense exchange of position, only to find himself jumping off the track on one of the course’s triples. Anderson regrouped, fought his way back into second place and secured the podium spot by the end of the race only giving up three points to Seely and retaining his points lead.

Justin Hill | Third Place

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Justin Hill proved he would be tough to beat in Seattle after winning his heat race earlier in the night. Hill started in third behind Seely and Wilson in the main and inherited second after a mistake by Wilson sent the rider to the ground. He would hold the position until a charging Jason Anderson caught up, and after an intense back and forth battle between the two riders and several mistakes by Anderson, Hill held on to finish the night on the podium in third.

Dean Wilson | Fourth Place

The fastest in qualifying, Dean Wilson jumped out front early in the main after pulling the holeshot in front of Seely and Hill. Wilson quickly gave up the lead to Seely, and a mistake out of a corner proved to be costly and sent him to the dirt, surrendering several positions. Wilson remounted in a hurry, but a fourth was all that the Scott could salvage by the time the final flag flew.

Jessy Nelson | Fifth Place

A top 10 start was more than enough to propel Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Jessy Nelson to a top five finish. Nelson sat back in seventh soon after the start of the 250 main, but after a solid performance and a mistake that dropped Cooper Webb out of the position, Nelson took over the spot and held on to the checkered flag.

Main Event Results
1. Cole Seely (Hon)
2. Jason Anderson (KTM)
3. Justin Hill (Kaw)
4. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
5. Jessy Nelson (Hon)
6. Zach Osborne (Hon)
7. Cooper Webb (Yam0
8. Jake Canada (Hon)
9. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)
10. Shane McElrath (Hon)
11. Michael Leib (Hon)
12. Dakota Tedder (Kaw)
13. Scott Champion (Yam)
14. Preston Mull (Yam)
15. Chris Howell (Yam)
16. Chris Siminoe (Kaw)
17. Chad Gores (Hon)
18. Zackery Freeberg (Yam)
19. Ross Johnson (Hon)
20. Collin Jurin (Kaw)
21. Ryder Steffy (Kaw)
22. Johnny Jelderda (Hon)
Monster Energy Supercross 250 West Coast Championship Points Standings (After 7 of 9 rounds):
1. Jason Anderson (178/4 wins)
2. Cole Seely (170/2 wins)
3. Justin Hill (139/1 win)
4. Dean Wilson (138/1 win)
5. Cooper Webb (121)
6. Malcolm Stewart (121)
7. Jessy Nelson (103)
8. Zach Osborne (100)
9. Shane McElrath (96)
10. Jake Canada (72)