Team BooKoo Energy Honda’s Lacey Sweeps Charlotte During Round Nine!

Opening Night for Round Nine Serves up a Sweep!

Charlotte , NC January 20, 2006 Mike Kidd Entertainment Group ¿ opened round nine of the K&N presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota with the Carolina Panther fans fired up as they witnessed some of the bumping and rubbing that BooKoo Arenacross has become known for.

Tonight was no different and the track featured a very technical rhythm section that had many of the riders scratching their heads as to which line would be the fastest through.

The Scott Clark City Toyota 250 Main Event fielded the fastest 16 riders for the 16-lap race.  BooKoo Energy’s Tiger Lacey was first off the line and into the first turn followed by Fun Center TLD PPG Suzuki’s Shane Bess second and Michael Blose, flying the GPS Racing/Storm Lake Honda colors, running a very close third.

The field remained in that order for much of the Main Event as Lacey continued to put down consistent lap times, pushing the pace to a level Bess and Blose seemed unable to match tonight.

The three put on a great battle for first but at the checkered flag Lacey would take the win by a wheel with Bess second and Blose third, just as they started.    Team Babbitt’s Enxus Oil Kawasaki’s Josh Demuth had a mid-pack start and ended up with a fourth place finish, enough to maintain the 250 point lead.

The BooKoo Energy Drink 450 Main Event was set to entertain the North Carolina crowd and as the gate dropped for the final race of the night, Babbitt’s Enxus Oil Kawasaki’s Damien Plotts had the reaction time off the gate that sent him racing into the first turn ahead of the rest.

Hofmaster was right on Plotts’ wheel throughout the opening laps as he managed to send his two-stroke Sano Systems, PPG Shogun Motion Cycles Yamaha 250 to the front of the pack with a great start against the stacked 450 four-stroke field. Brad Modjewski was third on the GPS Racing/Storm Lake Honda in the opening laps but yielded the position temporarily to Demuth on lap 6. 

Demuth and Plotts were fighting for the lead on lap 10 when Demuth ran into trouble as he tangled with Chad Charbonneau in the rhythm section, forcing Demuth to the back and out of contention for the win.

Lacey managed to get past Plotts on lap 18 and would go on to win his second Main Event of the night, his third on the year.  Plotts took home second place and Modjewski grabbed his first podium of the year with a sold third place performance.

“Man, this was a tough one to give away,” said Plotts.  “First we had trouble with a guy down in the rhythm section, I didn’t even see him and landed right on him, then it was just tough to hold a good line.” 

“I just tried picking guys off one-by-one and before I knew it I was up on Plotts for the lead, said Lacey.  “I love this place, it’s been very good to me so far, I can’t wait until tomorrow,” he added.

In the Dash for Cash Friday night, Colt Humphrey and his Sano Systems PPG Shogun Motion Sports Yamaha led the top riders from their heat races into the first turn, but it was Hofmaster who took the lead through the whoops and ran away with the cash money.  Humphrey was eager to grab that win and could taste the $1,000 that goes with it but Hofmaster was blitzing the whoops, determined to hold off his teammate’s charge.

The second night of round nine begins Saturday night at 7:30 as the series concludes its visit to North Carolina at the Cricket Arena.

Tickets for round nine are still on sale at Ticketmaster locations, online at , the Cricket Arena Box Office or charge by phone at 704-522-6500.

250 Main:

  1. Tiger Lacey HON
  2. Shane Bess SUZ
  3. Michael Blose HON
  4. Josh Demuth KAW
  5. Damien Plotts KAW
  6. Brad Hagseth SUZ
  7. Brad Ripple KAW
  8. Brady Sharp HON  
  9. Travis Bannister HON
  10. Colt Humphrey YAM
  11. Brad Modjewski HON
  12. Tommy Hofmaster YAM
  13. Kurt McCabe HON
  14. Kyle Calderini KAW
  15. Chris Osborne HON
  16. Billy Answorth KAW  

450 Main:

  1. Tiger Lacey HON
  2. Damien Plotts KAW
  3. Brad Modjewski HON
  4. Tommy Hofmaster YAM
  5. Colt Humphrey YAM
  6. Shane Bess SUZ
  7. Casey Hinson HON
  8. Travis Bannister HON
  9. Brad Ripple KAW
  10. Riley Kurosky HON
  11. Kurt McCabe HON
  12. Jeremy Cook KAW
  13. Josh Demuth KAW
  14. Brad Hagseth SUZ
  15. Kyle Calderini KAW
  16. Chad Charbonneau HON