Team BooKoo Energy Honda’s Lacey Takes Another Win – Hagseth and Humphrey Make the Podium in Charlotte!

Thousands of North Carolina Fans Turnout to Witness Round Nine of the BooKoo Arenacross Series!

Charlotte , NC January 21, 2006 ¿ Mike Kidd Entertainment Group ¿ wrapped up round nine of the K&N presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota with the seats in the house full of North Carolina fans that turned out to see the stars take to the track for the record BooKoo payout.

The Scott Clark Toyota City 250 Main Event had the riders bringing their best game to the line as the series continues to approach that final race where the final point standings are calculated and champions are crowned.   Every position is important in the series right now.

As the 250 class left the line, ‘Sugar’ Shane Bess on the Fun Center TLD PPG Suzuki and Damien Plotts on his Babbitt’s Enxus Oil Kawasaki were fighting for the lead right off the gate.  Michael Blose on the GPS Racing/Storm Lake Honda was right there in the mix as he tried to continue his solid run in the 250 class.

Blose manhandled Bess and took the position with a block pass on lap five but fell on lap six, taking him out of the running for the 250 win.  That left Plotts and Bess alone to trade punches each lap, with each rider taking a different line through the rhythm section of the track.

With everyone on their feet, the race concluded and Bess would be the top dog on the podium, Plotts would grab a well-deserved second place finish and Colt Humphrey on his Sano Systems PPG Shogun Motion Sports Yamaha snagged his first podium of the season as he passed teammate Tommy Hofmaster on the final lap for the spot. 

As the 450’s approached the starting line, the tension in the building was thick enough to cut with a knife!  Demuth was forced out of the 250 Main Event after going down and battling an injured elbow all week and there was a host of riders ready and willing to take advantage of the situation and take home the 450 win from the current points leader.

On lap one the order had Lacey out front with Plotts and Bess in hot pursuit.  Plotts has the start down and has obtained some incredible finishes lately but found himself in trouble in the whoops on lap six that sent him to the dirt, and to the back of the field.

Bess put the pressure on Lacey mid way through the race and continued that pressure into the closing laps while Hofmaster sat in a comfortable third. 

On the final lap, the only one that matters, Lacey would end the night with his third win of the weekend by holding off Bess, who finished second.  Bess’ teammate, Brad Hagseth, snuck his Fun Center Suzuki through the pack to grab his first podium this year as he finished in the number three spot.

“I just relaxed tonight and avoided some mishaps,” said Hagseth.  “I want to thank my mechanic, Greg Lynk and the rest of the team and our sponsors, they’ve really been great and it’s great to be up here on the podium with Shane.”

Chad Watts, former mechanic to Ricky Carmichael, was in the house tonight to see the racing and was so impressed with the action that he offered an additional handful of cash to the winner of the 250 and 450 Main Events, all courtesy of Watt’s Perfection. 

In the Dash for Cash Saturday night, Team BooKoo Energy Honda’s Tiger Lacey raced his way to the number one spot in the points race he leads.  Lacey moved his way past Damien Plotts in the opening laps and never looked back.  Lacey, back from an injury that sidelined him for several weeks, still manages to control the Dash for Cash point standings.

The Motorcycle Mechanics Institute Top Tech Award went to Chad Goodwin, technician for Riley Kurosky, who tore apart some engines thiis weekend in Charlotte and had them back together in time for the drop of the gate.  

The series takes a break before heading to Minneapolis, MN and the Target Center for the 10th Round of the series February 3-5, 2006. 

Tickets for round ten are on sale at Ticketmaster locations, online at, the Target Center Box Office or charge by phone at 651-989-5151.

250 Main:

  1. Shane Bess SUZ
  2. Damien Plotts KAW
  3. Colt Humphrey YAM
  4. Tommy Hofmaster YAM
  5. Kurt McCabe HON
  6. Brad Modjewski HON
  7. Casey Hinson HON
  8. Brad Ripple KAW
  9. Chris Pugrab KAW
  10. Brady Sharp HON
  11. Tyler Bright SUZ
  12. Brad Hagseth SUZ
  13. Jeremy Cook KAW
  14. Josh Demuth KAW DNF
  15. Michael Blose HON DNF
  16. Tiger Lacey HON DNF

450 Main:

  1. Tiger Lacey HON
  2. Shane Bess SUZ
  3. Brad Hagseth SUZ
  4. Colt Humphrey YAM
  5. Brad Ripple KAW
  6. Kurt McCabe HON
  7. Brad Modjewski HON
  8. Travis Bannister HON
  9. Damien Plotts KAW
  10. Josh Sterritt YAM
  11. Tommy Hofmaster YAM
  12. Brady Sharp HON
  13. Paul Justus SUZ
  14. Riley Kurosky HON
  15. Casey Hinson HON
  16. Josh Demuth KAW