Team Suzuki Assembles Impressive Lineup for 2004 Supercross Season

BREA, Calif., Nov. 7, 2003 ¿ American Suzuki Motor Corporation (ASMC) today announced that Team Suzuki is geared up for the 2004 AMA Supercross Series with a strong group of new and returning riders.

Former 125 and 250 World Champion Sebastien Tortelli will again campaign the Suzuki RM250, as will returning Suzuki rider Sean Hamblin. New to Team Suzuki is Nick Wey, who finished fourth overall in the 2003 AMA Supercross Series and was a regular top-10 finisher throughout the season.

“I have a lot of confidence in the 250 team,” said Team Manager Roger DeCoster. “In spite of injuries, Sebastien and Sean both raced remarkably last year and I believe they are capable of winning on the RM250. Nick Wey, our newest rider, had a great season last year and should excel even more on a Suzuki.”

Leading the 125 charge is 2003 AMA 125 East Supercross Champion Branden Jesseman. “Branden is really an amazing athlete,” said DeCoster. “He¿s very quiet and he just goes out and gets the job done. He¿ll be a good role model for the rest of the 125 riders who are new to factory support.”

Teamed with Jesseman is 2003 AMA Supercross/Motocross Rookie of the Year Brian Gray and Broc Hepler, who turned heads after finishing 11th in his first Pro Motocross race last year. Rounding out the Suzuki 125 team is Davi Millsaps. Making his Pro debut this season, Millsaps has won a number of amateur championships and is the winner of the 2003 AMA Motocross Horizon Award.

Jesseman and Millsaps will race Suzuki RM125 models, while Gray and Hepler will compete on brand-new 2004 Suzuki RM-Z250 four-stroke motocross bikes.

The 2004 Team Suzuki race season begins on Jan. 3, 2004, at Anaheim Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., with the first round of the 16-round AMA Supercross Series.