THOR Race Report: MX GP Round 10 – Faenza, Italy

The well groomed and undulating circuit of Faenza has replaced the cancelled South African GP for the 10th round of the FIM MX World championships. THOR MX1 championship leader, Josh Coppins, has extended his stronghold on the MX1 title chase to 107 points after two consistent moto finishes (2-2) in scorching conditions.

Coppins missed out on a good start in moto 1 but put his head down to come through the pack with an impressive ride on a track that was not easy to pass on. The Factory Yamaha Rinaldi rider closed down Frenchman Sebastien Pourcel at an alarming rate but just ran out of time to clinch the victory.

Another strong ride in moto 2 saw Coppins equal his first score and increase his championship lead over Belgian, Steve Ramon who could do not better than 8-8 scores on the day. Frenchman Sebastien Pourcel secured his first GP victory and the first double victory for the Pourcel family as brother Christophe beat Antonio Cairoli on his home ground in the MX2 class.

Fellow THOR rider Marc De Reuver was still suffering from the shoulder injury sustained in Sweden and had to support his team-mate from the side lines.

Gareth Swanepoel had to succumb to bad starts with the hard working South African having to fight from way back in the pack in both moto’s. ‘Swanie’ finished both moto’s strong while other riders were suffering from the heat.

The GP teams are looking forward to a week hiatus before heading east to the Czech Rep for round 11 on the 29 July:

Coppins: “I always come to every race trying to win. If I can’t do that then I need to make sure that I’m on the podium and that’s what I did today. I didn’t focus at the start of the first moto and changed a few things which I shouldn’t have -- I tried something a little bit different but it didn’t work and that made it a really hard race for me. I had to push quite hard in the first moto and that cost quite a lot of energy but I thought rather give it 100% and have two solid races.

Swanepoel: “I messed up both starts today and that cost me. This wasn’t the easiest track to pass on and in both motos I had to come from the back. I’m disappointed with the result even though my speed was good and I could finish off well in the heat.

Race results:

MX2 Race 1

1 Cairoli, Antonio ITA Yamaha

2 Pourcel, Christophe FRA Kawasaki

3 Rattray, Tyla RSA KTM

4 Aubin, Nicolas FRA Yamaha

5 Leuret, Pascal FRA Honda

6 Musquin, Marvin FRA Kawasaki

7 Goncalves, Rui POR KTM

8 Schiffer, Marcus GER KTM

9 Dougan, Jason GBR Suzuki

10 Swanepoel, Gareth RSA Kawasaki (THOR)

11 Searle, Tommy GBR KTM

12 Boissiere, Anthony FRA Kawasaki

13 Seistola, Matti FIN Honda

14 Nunn, Carl GBR Yamaha

15 Boog, Xavier FRA Yamaha

MX2 Race 2

1 Pourcel, Christophe FRA Kawasaki

2 Cairoli, Antonio ITA Yamaha

3 Rattray, Tyla RSA KTM

4 Leuret, Pascal FRA Honda

5 Searle, Tommy GBR KTM

6 Guarneri, Davide ITA Yamaha

7 Seistola, Matti FIN Honda

8 Goncalves, Rui POR KTM

9 Boog, Xavier FRA Yamaha

10 Schiffer, Marcus GER KTM

11 Swanepoel, Gareth RSA Kawasaki (THOR)

12 Gundersen, Kenneth NOR Yamaha

13 Paulin, Gautier FRA Honda

14 Tarroux, Jeremy FRA KTM


15 Boissiere, Anthony FRA Kawasaki

MX2 World championship standings:

1 Cairoli, A. ITA 486

2 Pourcel, C. FRA 384

3 Rattray, Tyla RSA 358

4 Searle, Tommy GBR 311

5 Leuret, Pascal FRA 304

6 Swanepoel, G. RSA 245 (THOR)

7 Aubin, Nicolas FRA 215

8 Gundersen, K. NOR 197

9 Seistola, M. FIN 182

10 Boissiere, A. FRA 161

11 Schiffer, M. GER 152

12 Nunn, Carl GBR 143

13 Guarneri, D. ITA 136

14 Boog, Xavier FRA 117

15 Goncalves, Rui POR 108

MX1 Race 1

1 Pourcel, Sebastien FRA Kawasaki

2 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha (THOR)

3 de Dycker, Ken BEL Honda

4 Brown, Mike USA Honda

5 Barragan, Jonathan ESP KTM

6 Philippaerts, David ITA KTM

7 Bill, Julien SUI Honda

8 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki

9 Mackenzie, Billy GBR Kawasaki

10 Strijbos, Kevin BEL Suzuki

11 Noble, James GBR Honda

12 Leok, Tanel EST Kawasaki

13 Priem, Manuel BEL TM

14 Salvini, Alex ITA Yamaha

15 Beggi, Cristian ITA WRM

MX1 Race 2

1 Pourcel, Sebastien FRA Kawasaki

2 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha (THOR)

3 Mackenzie, Billy GBR Kawasaki

4 Brown, Mike USA Honda

5 Barragan, Jonathan ESP KTM

6 Bill, Julien SUI Honda

7 Leok, Tanel EST Kawasaki

8 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki

9 van Daele, Marvin BEL Honda

10 de Dycker, Ken BEL Honda

11 Noble, James GBR Honda

12 Nemeth, Kornel HUN Suzuki

13 Priem, Manuel BEL TM

14 Salvini, Alex ITA Yamaha

15 Philippaerts, David ITA KTM

MX1 World championship standings:

1 Coppins, J. NZL 445 (THOR)

2 Ramon, Steve BEL 338

3 Pourcel, S. FRA 285

4 Philippaerts, D. ITA 278

5 Barragan, J. ESP 272

6 de Dycker, Ken BEL 256

7 Brown, Mike USA 255

8 Strijbos, K. BEL 250

9 Leok, Tanel EST 240

10 Mackenzie, B. GBR 218

11 Noble, James GBR 195

12 Priem, Manuel BEL 155

13 Nemeth, Kornel HUN 152

14 de Reuver, M. NED 136 (THOR)

15 Nagl, M. GER 107