TWMX Race Report: ’04 St. Louis SX

After last weekend’s outdoor/supercross hybrid at Daytona International Speedway, the AMA THQ Supercross Series returned to the more familiar layouts (and lighting) of the domes this week. On the 250cc side, Yamaha’s Chad Reed was still sore from crashing while leading in Daytona (even though he still won). Meanwhile, in 125cc action, only Team Suzuki’s Broc Hepler and Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Eric Sorby had legitimate shots at preventing James Stewart from clinching the 125cc title in the Gateway City.

125cc Racing

Hepler looked strong in the first 125cc heat, taking a convincing win over’s Steve Boniface and MotoSport Outlet’s Tiger Lacey. Unfortunately, Eric Sorby crashed hard and reportedly suffered a fractured sternum, and was obviously done for the night.


It was all Bubba in heat two, and he was followed across the line by Team Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps and Bubba’s Chevy Truck Kawasaki teammate, Paul Carpenter.


In the main event, it was all Bubba again. He powered around the outside of Carpenter as they headed into the first turn, and he never looked back.


Boost Mobile/Troy Racing/Yamaha rider Josh Hansen quickly moved into second spot, and he stayed there the rest of the main event. Carpenter lost a spot to Boost Mobile/Troy Racing/Yamaha’s Kelly Smith, but was able to retake the third and final podium spot.

Unfortunately, Broc Hepler got a poor start, and was 13th across the line on the first lap. While he worked his way to eighth place at the finish, it wasn’t enough Bubba from clinching yet another 125cc title.


As you’d expect, there was plenty of celebrating afterward, as Bubba was only the second rider (Ernesto Fonseca was the first) to win both the 125cc East and 125cc West titles. Carpenter’s first SX podium was also definitely worth celebrating.


125cc Main Event Results

  1. James Stewart
  2. Josh Hansen
  3. Paul Carpenter
  4. Kelly Smith
  5. Ryan Mills
  6. Davi Millsaps
  7. Danny Smith
  8. Broc Hepler
  9. Steve Boniface
  10. Steve Lamson
  11. Tiger Lacey
  12. Brett Metcalfe
  13. Kevin Johnson
  14. Jeff Gibson
  15. Justin Brayton
  16. Daniel Blair
  17. Tyson Hadsell
  18. Jeff Northrup
  19. Vincent Blair
  20. Cole Seibler
  21. Steve Mertens
  22. Bradley Ripple

250cc Racing

In the first 250cc heat race, Team Suzuki’s Travis Pastrana jumped into an early lead with his former teammate and friend, Amsoil/Chaparral/Honda’s Kevin Windham, in tow. After a bobble by Pastrana, Windham took over the lead, and held it until the end.


KTM’s Grant Langston jumped into the lead of the second 250cc heat. Yamaha’s Chad Reed didn’t get the greatest start, and was catching Grant…until he crashed in a 180 right-hander. He quickly remounted without losing a spot, but ran out of time to catch Grant.


In the 250cc main event, Honda’s Nate Ramsey got the power of his CR450 hooked up, and grabbed the holeshot with Chad Reed hot on his heels.


On lap four, Reed made his way by Ramsey and into the lead. A lap later, Windham also got by Nate, and worked his way to within a second of Reed and his championship-leading Yamaha.


Unfortunately, Windham lost contact with the speedy Aussie, and Chad cruised to a relatively easy win. Though considering the injuries Reed suffered at Daytona last week, which were also aggravated by crashes in St. Louis, it definitely wasn’t easy.

[IMAGE 10]

On the podium it was the typically happy scene, though in the post-race press conference, Windham was bitter about the loss, and disappointed in his performance. The good news is, he’ll get another shot next weekend in Indy.

[IMAGE 11]

250cc Main Event Results

  1. Chad Reed
  2. Kevin Windham
  3. Nate Ramsey
  4. Mike LaRocco
  5. David Vuillemin
  6. Andrew Short
  7. Michael Byrne
  8. Heath Voss
  9. Nick Wey
  10. Sean Hamblin
  11. Grant Langston
  12. Damon Huffman
  13. Jason Thomas
  14. Tyler Evans
  15. Ted Campbell
  16. James Povolny
  17. Ryan Clark
  18. Tommy Hofmaster
  19. Brian Mason
  20. Travis Pastrana