TWMX Race Report: ’05 AMA Supercross Series, Round 4; San Francisco, CA


Ricky Carmichael unofficially laid claim to the 2005 THQ/AMA Supercross Series title at only the fourth of 16 rounds scheduled. Although it’s still early, RC came from behind to pass and pull away from his rival Chad Reed and record his third win in a row. You can bet that in Ricky’s mind, the series is all over but the racing.

125cc Qualifiers

Star Racing’s Bryan Johnson got the holeshot in the first heat race and held his own out front early, under pressure from Phoenix winner Broc Hepler. Early in the race, however, Hepler got out of shape and went over the bars hard. Early reports had him with a possible broken arm, but later reports are that it’s not that serious. We will keep you posted, though.

But Johnson held his lead for the rest of the race over Tiger Lacey, impressive rookie Ryan Sipes, Jay Marmont and Ryan Morais.

Ivan Tedesco grabbed the second-heat holeshot and was never headed, even though Nathan Ramsey and Billy Laninovich kept him honest to the finish line. Danny Smith and Steve Lamson rounded out the top five.

Andrew Short made quick work of the 125cc LCQ over Paul Carpenter, Chris Gosselaar and Jesse Casillas.

250cc Qualifiers

Kevin Windham grabbed the heat-one holeshot as Chad Reed was mired in the pack. However, Reed made quick work of the pack and moved around countryman Michael Byrne for second late in the heat. Byrne finished third, while Nick Wey made an aggressive pass late in the race on Ernesto Fonseca for the final transfer spot.

In heat two, Ricky Carmichael grabbed the holeshot and disappeared from the pack. Mike LaRocco finished in second, though Jeff Gibson pressured him for much of the race while holding off David Vuillemin. Near the finish, Tortelli made his way by both Gibson and Vuillemin. Gibson finished fourth, grabbing the final transfer spot.

125cc Main

Danny Smith grabbed his first holeshot of the year at the start of the 125cc main event, but by lap two, Billy Laninovich took over the point position, and from there, he would never let up. Andrew Short was on his tail early on, but Laninovich inched away over the course of the main event. Ivan Tedesco went down with Nathan Ramsey on the opening lap, and although Tedesco kept his KX250F running, Ramsey’s KTM quit running and it took him a while to get it back up and running again. Another crash later on relegated him to 20th place. Tedesco, however, went on a tear, passing, on average, one bike per lap and finishing in third place, minimizing the damage to his points lead.

But 21-year-old Laninovich recorded his first-ever AMA Pro win in his fourth race back with the Amsoil/Chaparral Honda team after basically a full year off last year. WBR Suzuki’s Ryan Morais and 125cc loner Brett Metcalfe rounded out the top five.

250cc Main

Chad Reed stole the 250cc main event holeshot from Mike LaRocco to start the race, with Ricky Carmichael ducking behind them in third. Carmichael moved past LaRocco on lap two and then set out after Reed, who had put a small gap on the field. Carmichael slowly reeled Reed in, and then on lap eight, Carmichael dove underneath Reed in the right-hand turn after the finish line to take the lead. Although Reed tried to counter the move, he was unsuccessful, and over the course of the next 12 laps, Carmichael inched away, eventually winning by a comfortable five seconds over his Aussie rival. LaRocco crossed the finish line in third, about 20 seconds behind Reed, with David Vuillemin on his tail in fourth and Ernesto Fonseca rounding out the top five.

125cc Main Results:

  1. Billy Laninovich (Hon)
  2. Andrew Short (Hon)
  3. Ivan Tedesco (Kaw)
  4. Ryan Morais (Suz)
  5. Brett Metcalfe (Yam)
  6. Bryan Johnson (Yam)
  7. Ryan Sipes (Suz)
  8. Danny Smith (Yam)
  9. Jay Marmont (KTM)
  10. Chris Gosselaarr (Suz)

250cc Main Results:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
  2. Chad Reed (Yam)
  3. Mike LaRocco (Hon)
  4. David Vuillemin (Yam)
  5. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon)
  6. Nick Wey (Hon)
  7. Heath Voss (Yam)
  8. Michael Byrne (Kaw)
  9. Kevin Windham (Hon)
  10. Tyler Evans (Suz)

125cc Western Regional Points Standings:

  1. Ivan Tedesco (80/1 win)
  2. Ryan Sipes (67)
  3. Danny Smith (58)
  4. Andrew Short (56)
  5. Tommy Hahn (49)
  6. Nathan Ramsey (46/1 win)
  7. Billy Laninovich (42/1 win)
  8. Brett Metcalfe (41)
  9. Jay Marmont (39)
  10. Jesse Casillas (35)

THQ/AMA 250cc Supercross Points Standings:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (95/3 wins)
  2. Kevin Windham (79/1 win)
  3. Chad Reed (69)
  4. Mike LaRocco (66)
  5. Nick Wey (59)
  6. Ernesto Fonseca (58)
  7. Sebastien Tortelli (57)
  8. Heath Voss (51)
  9. David Vuillemin (49)
  10. Michael Byrne (44)