TWMX Race Report: ’05 AMA Supercross Series, Round 6; Indianapolis, IN

5… And Counting

Only six rounds into the 16-round THQ/AMA Supercross Series, and the “most anticipated season in over a decade is entirely predictable — thanks to one Ricky Carmichael. He’s only done this 11 other times in his career. The 1997, 1998 and 1999 125cc National Championships, the 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, and 2004 250cc National Championships, and the 2001, 2002, and 2003 AMA Supercross Championships have all ended up this way, as did the 1998 125cc Eastern Regional Supercross Championship — all thanks to one Ricky Carmichael.

Indianapolis marked the fifth win in a row for Carmichael, and the seventh in the eight rounds run of the THQ World Supercross GP Series. With his teammate Davi Millsaps’ win in the 125cc main, it also marked the second time this year (and the second time ever) that Suzuki swept both main events in one night.

125cc Qualifiers

New Samsung/Sprint Wireless rider Steve Boniface grabbed the heat-one holeshot, followed by Greg Schnell and Grant Langston. While Boniface led comfortably, Langston made his way past Schnell to grab second. Boniface won over Langston, Schnell, Brock Sellards and Tucker Hibbert.

Heat two saw Josh Hansen grab the holeshot and lead most of the race before he went down late, allowing Matt Walker into the lead, where he would stay, over Justin Buckelew, Davi Millsaps, Kelly Smith and Brad Ripple.

Hansen came back to win the LCQ over Joaquim Rodrigues, Troy Adams and Bobby Kiniry.

250cc Qualifiers

David Vuillemin got the holeshot in the first 250cc heat while his teammate Chad Reed was mired in the pack. Heath Voss kept Vuillemin honest for the first couple laps before Vuillemin began to make his break. It wasn’t long before Reed came up past Travis Preston and Voss and began to make headway on Vuillemin’s lead. By the start of the eighth and final lap, Reed was right on Vuillemin. DV pushed noticeably harder on the final lap to hold onto the lead and took the win by a smidge over Reed, with Voss and Preston taking the final two transfer spots.

Carmichael grabbed the heat-two holeshot over Kevin Windham, and it was a bit of a yawner. Although Windham kept Carmichael honest for a couple of laps, K-Dub was still feeling the effects of his main-event crash of a week previous and eventually had to let RC go. Windham held on for second over Michael Byrne and Ernesto Fonseca.

Jason Thomas holeshot the first 250cc semi, but it wasn’t long before Mike LaRocco came through the pack to pass Thomas for the lead and take the win, while Thomas held on for second, Tyler Evans took third and Erick Vallejo and Doug DeHaan took the final two transfer spots.

After missing out on a transfer out of his heat by one spot to Fonseca, Sebastien Tortelli grabbed the holeshot in semi two and took off, winning easily over Damon Huffman, Isaiah Johnson, Keith Johnson and Ryan Clark, who made a ridiculously good last-lap block pass on Sean Hamblin for the main-event seed.

Brian Mason got the LCQ holeshot over Michael Young. Young eventually made his way by and looked to have the win in the bag before he went down with less than three laps to go, handing the lead to Joe Oehlhof, who had made his way by Mason in the meantime. Young got up in third but was too far behind Oehlhof and Mason to get a spot into the main.

125cc Main

Holeshot champion Kelly Smith added another one to his tally in the main event, followed by Langston, Hansen, Millsaps and Schnell. Langston made his way by right away and looked to be in control until on lap three, when Millsaps went by both Smith and Langston to take the lead. Langston stayed on Millsaps for quite a few laps, but late in the race, arm-pump got the best of him and he faded back a touch. Hansen moved into third on lap three as well, and despite a tipover, he hung on and was actually catching Langston near the end of the race. Millsaps took a sseemingly easy win over Langston, Hansen, Brock Sellards and Matt Walker, who came from quite a ways back for a top-five.

250cc Main

Although technically Erick Vallejo grabbed the main-event holeshot, Carmichael went by just after the holeshot marker to take the lead while Reed worked his way past Vallejo and Voss before the second turn to take second — albeit a full second behind RC already. From there, Carmichael put on a clinic, pulling away to eventually win by nearly eight seconds over Reed, who had an additional 17 seconds on the wounded Kevin Windham in third. LaRocco was breathing down Windham’s neck at the finish and was credited with fourth, while Vuillemin came out on top of a three-rider dogfight with Fonseca and Tortelli for fifth.

125cc Main Results:

  1. Davi Millsaps (Suz)
  2. Grant Langston (Kaw)
  3. Josh Hansen (KTM)
  4. Brock Sellards (Yam)
  5. Matt Walker (Kaw)
  6. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hon)
  7. Branden Jesseman (Suz)
  8. Tucker Hibbert (Hon)
  9. Greg Schnell (Hon)
  10. Kelly Smith (Yam)

250cc Main Results:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
  2. Chad Reed (Yam)
  3. Kevin Windham (Hon)
  4. Mike LaRocco (Hon)
  5. David Vuillemin (Yam)
  6. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon)
  7. Sebastien Tortelli (Suz)
  8. Heath Voss (Yam)
  9. Damon Huffman (Hon)
  10. Michael Byrne (Kaw)

125cc Eastern Regional Points Standings:

  1. Davi Millsaps (25/1 win)
  2. Grant Langston (22)
  3. Josh Hansen (20)
  4. Brock Sellards (18)
  5. Matt Walker (16)
  6. Joaquim Rodrigues (15)
  7. Branden Jesseman (14)
  8. Tucker Hibbert (13)
  9. Greg Schnell (12)
  10. Kelly Smith (11)

THQ/AMA 250cc Supercross Points Standings:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (145/5 wins)
  2. Chad Reed (113)
  3. Kevin Windham (100/1 win)
  4. Mike LaRocco (99)
  5. Ernesto Fonseca (89)
  6. David Vuillemin (83)
  7. Sebastien Tortelli (79)
  8. Michael Byrne (75)
  9. Nick Wey (73)
  10. Heath Voss (68)