TWMX Race Report: ’05 Vegas SX

With all the titles wrapped up and everyone already eyeing the start of the outdoor season in two weeks, the Las Vegas Supercross was all about bragging rights for the riders, and a party atmosphere for the spectators. Everyone expected the unexpected in the Dave Coombs Sr. 125cc East West Shootout, and one more speed test for everyone in the 250cc class.

The Las Vegas track featured another split start, which was completely out of view of the spectators, thanks to the scoreboard, a row of trees, and a pair of buildings. The riders also disappeared for several seconds each lap in the same area (which was dubbed Thunder Alley), in a large loop which looked much more like a Supermoto track than a traditional Supercross. The result was much longer lap times than seen in past Vegas events—in the 1:09s for the fastest 125 laps, and in the 1:07 range for the 250s.

125 Heats

The 125 heats became showcases for the ’05 125 champions. West champ Ivan Tedesco made quick work of the 125 West heat, grabbing the holeshot and never relinquishing th e lead. Nate Ramsey came from fourth at the start to work his way by Billy Laninovich and Turbo Reif. Paul Carpenter finished third.

Josh Hansen was the early leader in the 125 East heat, but was passed by 125 East champ Grant Langston. Davi Millsaps also made his way by the pink and white clad KTM rider, and finished in second spot.

Houston winner Andrew Short crashed in his heat, but came back to win the 125cc LCQ over Josh Woods.

250 Heats

Kyle Lewis was the early leader in the first 250cc heat, followed by Kevin Windham, Tyler Evans, Jason Thomas, and Chad Reed. Windham quickly took over the lead, while Reed was busily picking off the riders between himself and the lead Honda. Reed eventually made his way to the lead and was followed across the finish by Windham, Ernesto Fonseca, and Travis Preston.

James Stewart crashed shortly after the start of the second 250 heat, and sat out the rest of the night with a reported severely sprained thumb. That left the heat to Ricky Carmichael. For a time there was a Yamaha freight train of Heath Voss, David Vuillemin and Tim Ferry, but a tangle between Ferry and Vuillemin let Ryan Clark slip by to take third. DV won the race-to-remount, and took the final transfer spot.

250 Semis

Keith Johnson took the first 250 Semi over Isaiah Johnson, Jason Thomas, and Jiri Dostal. 2005 top privateer Tyler Evans had started near the rear of the pack, but muscled his way into fifth spot in the last corner.

Tim Ferry topped the other 250 semi, followed by Damon Huffman, early leader Justin Buckelew. Cole Siebler, and Joe Oehlhof.

Erick Vallejo and Kyle Lewis were the final two main event qualifiers, grabbing the final two spots available in the LCQ.

125 Main

Jay Marmont was the fastest off the line in the 125cc main event, followed by Brock Sellards, Davi Millsaps and Billy Laninovich. Early in the first lap, a wild crash took out Ivan Tedesco, as well as Joaquim Rodriguez, who spent a large chunk of the main KO’d in the middle of a corner.

Marmont led for a lap before being passed by Millsaps, who was never challenged again. Behind him, both Broc Hepler and Grant Langston were making rapid forward progress. Hepler moved into second on lap three, before being dispatched by Langston on lap six.

Millsaps topped the podium, with Langston second. Josh Grant moved from eighth early in the main to grab the final podium spot.

Afterward, Hepler, Sellards and Walker were all issued five-second penalties for jumping on a red flag, and Steve Boniface was DQ’d for multiple infractions in the red flag zone.

250 Main

Damon Huffman grabbed the Butterfinger holeshot cash to start the 250 main, and was pursued by Kevin Windham and Heath Voss. K-Dub wasted no time in making his way by Damon, and immediately went to work building a leead that was eventually just over the full length of the stadium floor. Neither Reed nor Carmichael had gotten great jumps out of the gate, and they were busy working their way through the pack.

By the end of lap 1, the running order was Windham, Heath Voss, Huffman, Ryan Clark, Chad Reed, Keith Johnson, and Ricky Carmichael. The podium finishers all made their way to the top three by lap six, and from there, the only thing to be decided was the final order. Windham maintained the same gap between himself and Chad Reed for several laps, but then Reed started reeling in the lead Honda. A crash in the whoops by Windham allowed Reed to make his way into the lead, as well as allowing RC to slip into second. That was it for the final running order, with Reed taking the win over Carmichael, and Windham remounting for third. David Vuillemin put in an impressive ride, working from the very back of the pack early on, to finish fourth.

Results: Las Vegas Supercross

125cc Main Event

  1. Davi Millsaps (Suz)
  2. Grant Langston (KTM)
  3. Josh Grant (Hon)
  4. Andrew Short (Hon)
  5. Broc Hepler (Suz)
  6. Nate Ramsey (KTM)
  7. Jay Marmont (KTM)
  8. Billy Laninovich (Hon)
  9. Josh Summey (Hon)
  10. Paul Carpenter (Kaw)

250cc Main Event

  1. Chad Reed (Yam)
  2. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
  3. Kevin Windham (Hon)
  4. David Vuillemin (Yam)
  5. Heath Voss (Yam)
  6. Travis Preston (Hon)
  7. Tim Ferry (Yam)
  8. Erick Vallejo (Yam)
  9. Ryan Clark (Hon)
  10. Damon Huffman (Hon)