TWMX Race Report: Budds Creek ’05

Keep On Truckin¿¿

¿Is exactly what Ricky Carmichael and Mike Brown did on Sunday in Budds Creek, Maryland. A belated Happy Father¿s Day to all of you dads reading along out there, and shame on all of you sons for not taking your dads to round four of the AMA Nationals at Budds Creek for Father¿s Day. Beautifully moderate weather (high 70s to low 80s with low humidity) was welcomed at Budds after a scorcher last weekend at Southwick, and once again the series points leaders had the stuff¿RC to keep his overall win streak alive, and Browny to win the overall and add to his current points lead. Here¿s how the action unfolded¿ 

125cc Moto One

Honda¿s Andrew Short grabbed the holeshot to start moto one with Mike Brown, Ivan Tedesco, Broc Hepler and Grant Langston close in tow. Browny put a move on Short during the second lap for the lead, but Short wasn¿t done out front as he got back by the veteran on lap five. That, unfortunately for Short, was the last lead he would see all day as Brown got back by him for the last time on the very next lap. Behind the front two, Hepler got by Tedesco on the second lap to take over the third spot, and he quickly pulled himself up close behind the battling leaders. On lap thirteen, Hepler and Short came together as they both attempted to squeeze into the same line, sending them both to the ground. Short remounted to finish the moto in 11th place, but Hepler and his RM-Z250 limped their way off the track for a DNF. The moto ended with Brown taking the win, Ivan Tedesco taking his first podium of the series in second, and Grant Langston holding on for third.  

250cc Moto One

After losing the first moto at Southwick thanks to an uncharacteristic crash, Ricky Carmichael was as determined as ever to build on his fresh new moto win streak of one (Southwick¿s second moto), and he was helped out by a monstrous first moto holeshot at Budds Creek. Behind RC on lap one was James Stewart, Chad Reed, Tim Ferry and Ernesto Fonseca. Bubba tried everything in the book to stay on Ricky¿s rear wheel, but the defending champ slowly inched away and ended the moto with an 18-second cushion after cruising his way across the line. Bubba held on for a hard-fought second place with a late-moto charging Chad Reed just a half second back. Kevin Windham finished fourth.

125cc Moto Two

The second 125cc moto began with Amsoil/Chaparral/Honda¿s Josh Grant in the lead, which is exactly the way the moto ended as well. Grant led wire-to-wire, taking his first-ever National win, and third overall on the day. Trying to chase Grant down during the first half of the moto was his formal amateur rival, Mike Alessi. Alessi held tough for nine of the thirteen laps, but on lap ten he was passed by Ivan Tedesco, Matt Walker and Mike Brown, and eventually ended the moto in fifth place. Tedesco held on for another solid second place finish, as he barely held off Brown on the very last lap. Brown¿s third place finish was good enough for the day¿s overall win, and Ivan¿s 2-2 motos landed him in second overall, his best National result ever.

250cc Moto Two

Aside from the first four or so laps of racing, moto number two was pretty uneventful. RC once again grabbed a convincing holeshot, but this time it was Reed in hot pursuit. Number 22 stayed close for the first few laps, but Ricky gradually pulled away, never to be seriously challenged. With another 18-second win, RC once again proved that he has everybody covered, and the top four at the end of lap one held their positions for another 13 laps, and ended the moto in the identical order: RC, Reed, Bubba and Windham.

125cc O/A Results:

  1. Mike Brown (Hon, 1-3)
  2. Ivan Tedesco (Kaw, 2-2)
  3. Josh Grant (Hon, 4-1)
  4. Mike Alessi (KTM, 9-5)
  5. <

  6. Matt Walker (Kaw, 12-4)
  7. Davi Millsaps (Suz, 8-8)
  8. Grant Langston (Kaw, 3-19)
  9. Akira Narita (Hon, 14-7)
  10. Brock Sellards (Yam, 7-14)
  11. Ryan Hughes (Hon, 5-16)

250cc O/A Results:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz, 1-1)
  2. Chad Reed (Yam, 3-2)
  3. James Stewart (2-3)
  4. Kevin Windham (Hon, 4-4)
  5. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon, 5-5)
  6. David Vuillemin (Yam, 9-6)
  7. Michael Byrne (Kaw, 8-7)
  8. Nick Wey (Hon, 11-9)
  9. Travis Preston (Hon, 12-10)
  10. John Dowd (Suz, 10-13)