TWMX Race Report: Houston ’05


With a 30-point spread between Chad Reed and Ricky Carmichael heading into the series¿ penultimate race in Houston, Texas, all Carmichael needed was a third place or better to clinch his fourth THQ/AMA Supercross title, and 12th AMA National title overall. And that was if Reed won. RC did his job, finishing third in the Houston main event, but it wasn¿t Reed with the win ¿ it was James ¿Bubba¿ Stewart.

125cc Qualifiers

Andrew Short led the first 125cc heat from start to finish, while Jay Marmont, Paul Carpenter, Ryan Morais, Bryan Johnson, Nathan Ramsey, Turbo Reif, Eric Nye and Billy Swapp rounded out the qualifiers.

Ivan Tedesco did likewise in heat two, followed by Josh Summey, Billy Laninovich, Brett Metcalfe, Broc Hepler, Jesse Casillas, Chris Gosselaar, Justin Keeney and Logan Darien.

Johnny Marley won the 125cc LCQ over Sean Collier, Josh Woods and Ryan Abrigo.

250cc Qualifiers

Heat one in Houston was bizarre, to say the least. Chad Reed and James Stewart started out front, with Stewart making a pass around Reed early on. Reed stayed right on Stewart¿s rear wheel, pressuring the Kawasaki rider just past the halfway point, when Reed fell as he dived under Stewart in a turn. Not two turns later, Stewart went down in a heap, bending up his KX250 and handing the lead to Kevin Windham, who went on to score the victory over Reed, who got up to finish second. Sebastien Tortelli and Timmy Ferry rounded out the qualifiers.

Heat two seemed to go as normal, with Ricky Carmichael getting out front early and pulling away to a healthy winning margin over David Vuillemin, Heath Voss and Ryan Clark.

Stewart dominated the first Semi, although he worked his way from about fifth to the lead gingerly, favoring some sore ribs. Jason Thomas, Kyle Lewis, Ernesto Fonseca and Joe Oehlhof rounded out the qualifiers.

Damon Huffman led the second Semi from start to finish over Justin Buckelew, Doug Dehaan, Tyler Evans and Jiri Dostal.

Erick Vallejo won the LCQ over a poor-starting Travis Preston.

125cc Main

Short got another holeshot in the 125cc main event, while Tedesco was picking himself up off of the ground in the first turn. It took Tedesco a few moments to get his bike started, and his bid for the win basically ended before it started. Laninovich ran second early on, but gave way to Hepler by the end of the third lap, and Hepler set out after Short. With only a few laps to go, Hepler caught Short, and on the last lap, Hepler made a pass stick on Short. Heading down the start straightaway and into the right-hander before the finish line, Hepler seemed to have the lead firmly in hand, but Short dove aggressively up the inside and knocked Hepler down, taking his first win since Las Vegas 2003.

Hepler got up for third, behind Laninovich. Marmont had his best finish of the year in fourth, followed by Summey.

250cc Main

Lewis grabbed a big holeshot in the 250cc main event over the trio of Ricky Carmichael, James Stewart and Chad Reed. Three turns into the race, Stewart forced Carmichael high in a turn for second, and Reed followed him by Carmichael into third. They quickly worked their way around Lewis on lap two, and Stewart began to pull away while Carmichael and Reed duked it out over second. Carmichael actually grabbed second from Reed on lap three, but the two played cat-and-mouse while Stewart pulled away. Eventually, Carmichael let Reed go.

With the lead he established, Bubba took his first win of the year in a race where he didn¿t get the holeshot, while Reed finished 1.6 seconds behind in second and Carmichael cruised home in third, savoring his fourth AMA Supercross Championship one round early.

125cc Main Results:

  1. Andrew Short (Hon)
  2. Billy Laninovich (Hon)
  3. Broc Hepler (Suz)
  4. Jay Marmont (KTM)
  5. Josh Summey (Hon)
  6. Nathan Ramsey (KTM)
  7. Paul Carpenter (Kaw)
  8. Ivan Tedesco (Kaw)
  9. Brett Metcalfe (Yam)
  10. Ryan Morais (Suz)

250cc Main Results:

  1. James Stewart (Kaw)
  2. Chad Reed (Yam)
  3. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
  4. Kevin Windham (Hon)
  5. David Vuillemin (Yam)
  6. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon)
  7. Jason Thomas (Hon)
  8. Timmy Ferry (Yam)
  9. Kyle Lewis (Hon)
  10. Ryan Clark (Hon)

125cc Western Regional Final Points Standings:

  1. Ivan Tedesco (160/2 wins)
  2. Nathan Ramsey (131/3 wins)
  3. Andrew Short (126/1 win)
  4. Billy Laninovich (119/1 win)
  5. Jay Marmont (98)
  6. Brett Metcalfe (94)
  7. Danny Smith (77)
  8. Ryan Sipes (67)
  9. Broc Hepler (66/1 win)
  10. Tommy Hahn (65)

THQ/AMA 250cc Supercross Points Standings:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (345/7 wins)
  2. Chad Reed (317/4 wins)
  3. Kevin Windham (264/1 win)
  4. Mike LaRocco (229)
  5. David Vuillemin (227)
  6. Ernesto Fonseca (190)
  7. Sebastien Tortelli (176)
  8. Heath Voss (144)
  9. James Stewart (129/3 wins)
  10. Tyler Evans (125)