TWMX Race Report: Seattle ’05

Mud be gone…

The Seattle Supercross was supposed to be a mud bog, and the results were supposed to have the potential to change everything in the 250cc title chase. Well, the rain went away and stayed away, although the points were nearly shaken up in the 250cc main.

And in 125cc news, Ivan Tedesco is officially the 125cc Western Regional Supercross Champion — again — with one round left to run. It’s the first Pro Circuit 125cc SX sweep since 1991 (the first year the team existed — with Jeremy McGrath and Brian Swink doing the damage).

125cc Qualifiers

Nathan Ramsey led the first 125cc heat from start to finish over Brett Metcalfe (#123) and Billy Laninovich (#132). Ryan Abrigo, Justin Keeney, Richie Owens, Jesse Casillas, Jeremy Chaussee and Chris Gosselaar also qualified out of the first heat to the main event.

Ivan Tedesco got out to the quick start in the second heat, but only a couple of laps in, he went down on the finish line jump, handing the lead to Bryan Johnson, who held the lead to the finish over Jay Marmont, Andrew Short, Josh Woods, Eric Nye, Josh Summey, Turbo Reif, Logan Darien and Broc Hepler. Tedesco was forced into the LCQ.

Tedesco got the holeshot from the far outside in the LCQ and went on to win over Paul Carpenter, Steve Lamson and Michael Blose.

250cc Qualifiers

The qualifying system was changed for Seattle, as threatening weather forced the cancellation of daytime qualifiers. For fairness, all of the riders who signed up were allowed to race, which meant there would be three 250cc heat races (top 4 transfer in each race), two 250cc semis (top 3 transfer) and a 250cc LCQ (top 2 transfer).

James Stewart grabbed the holeshot in the first heat, over Ernesto Fonseca, Chad Reed and Timmy Ferry. After passing for second, Reed went down in a heap before a whoop section, splashing himself in the mud. After getting up quite a ways behind, Reed chopped his way back through the field, but came up just short of qualifying, as Stewart won, followed by Fonseca, Tortelli, Ferry and Reed, just out of a qualifying spot.

Ricky Carmichael dominated his heat over David Vuillemin, Travis Preston and Jason Thomas, while Kevin Windham did the same in front of Mike LaRocco, Tyler Evans and Damon Huffman.

Reed came back to win the first semi, over Justin Buckelew and Isaiah Johnson, while Heath Voss did likewise in the second semi over Kyle Lewis and Keith Johnson. Tommy Hofmaster won the LCQ, while Kevin Johnson made the main event for the first time this year by virtue of a last-turn pass on Jiri Dostal.

125cc Main

Ramsey got another holeshot to start the 125cc main event, with his teammate Marmont in tow. Tedesco started fourth, and Short started eighth. Ramsey held the lead until lap eight, when he fell down (although he kept his engine running). On the same lap, Short had made his way past Marmont, so he inherited the lead, which he held until lap 13, when Ramsey made his way back by as Short faltered on the difficult track.

Ramsey went on to score his third win of the season, followed by Short and Tedesco. Hepler finished fourth, after rounding the first lap 17th, and Marmont hung on for fifth.

250cc Main

Windham, Stewart and Reed went into the first turn side-by-side, with Windham on the inside and Stewart in the middle. Stewart and Reed made contact, and as their path changed, Windham hit Stewart, who then hit Reed again, sending Reed over the first-turn berm. Reed remounted dead last, while Stewart assumed the lead.

Stewart was never headed, and Carmichael ran second early on. Windham attempted a pass on Carmichael within the first five laps, but then fell back in lapped traffic. However, two laps from the end of the race, Windham not only caught Carmichael, but passed the 11-time champ through the whoops before the finish line. Stewart took a seemingly easy victorry over Windham and Carmichael, while in an amazing ride, Reed finished fourth, only 1.5 seconds behind Carmichael. LaRocco finished fifth.

125cc Main Results:

  1. Nathan Ramsey (KTM)
  2. Andrew Short (Hon)
  3. Ivan Tedesco (Kaw)
  4. Broc Hepler (Suz)
  5. Jay Marmont (KTM)
  6. Billy Laninovich (Hon)
  7. Josh Summey (Hon)
  8. Brett Metcalfe (Yam)
  9. Ryan Abrigo (Hon)
  10. Justin Keeney (Kaw)

250cc Main Results:

  1. James Stewart (Kaw)
  2. Kevin Windham (Hon)
  3. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
  4. Chad Reed (Yam)
  5. Mike LaRocco (Hon)
  6. David Vuillemin (Yam)
  7. Travis Preston (Hon)
  8. Tyler Evans (Suz)
  9. Heath Voss (Yam)
  10. Timmy Ferry (Yam)

125cc Western Regional Points Standings:

  1. Ivan Tedesco (147/2 wins)
  2. Nathan Ramsey (116/3 wins)
  3. Andrew Short (101)
  4. Billy Laninovich (97/1 win)
  5. Brett Metcalfe (82)
  6. Jay Marmont (80)
  7. Danny Smith (77)
  8. Ryan Sipes (67)
  9. Tommy Hahn (65)
  10. Ryan Morais (53)

THQ/AMA 250cc Supercross Points Standings:

  1. Ricky Carmichael (325/7 wins)
  2. Chad Reed (295/4 wins)
  3. Kevin Windham (246/1 win)
  4. Mike LaRocco (229)
  5. David Vuillemin (211)
  6. Ernesto Fonseca (175)
  7. Sebastien Tortelli (169)
  8. Heath Voss (134)
  9. Tyler Evans (119)
  10. Travis Preston (113)