Vans Steps Up Support of Monster Energy / Pro Circuit Kawasaki Team

Cypress, CA (January 2, 2008) — In a statement that underscores Vans’ commitment to motocross and its riders, Vans announces that it is stepping up its support of Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki, motocross’ most decorated racing team. Vans will provide team riders with footwear and apparel as well as bring a season-long presence in the pits on race days. Motocross fans can stop by the Vans booth in the pits to get freebies as well as meet team riders throughout the 2008 Monster Energy ® Supercross season.

Additionally, in recognition of the tremendous contributions that Mitch Payton and Pro Circuit have made to motocross over the past three decades, Vans designers have created a special, limited edition shoe commemorating Pro Circuit’s 30th anniversary. Monster Energy / Pro Circuit Kawasaki team and crew will sport the shoes and fans will have the chance to score the shoes only at races in 2008.

Pro Circuit is the most recognized motocross performance company in the world. Just last month, team owner Mitch Payton was awarded the AMA’s Award of Mechanical Excellence as under his leadership Monster Energy / Pro Circuit Kawasaki riders won the AMA Supercross West and East Lites Series titles as well as the AMA Motocross Lites Championship. The team swept the Lites podium in both Supercross and Motocross events this season. Team member and Vans’ rider Ryan Villopoto was named the 2007 Athlete of the Year. Through the years, many of moto’s luminaries have ridden for Pro Circuit including Jeremy McGrath, Ricky Carmichael, Travis Pastrana, James Stewart, Mike LaRocco and Ivan Tedesco.

“Obviously, there is no better team to be associated with in the sport of motocross, said Vans’ Vice President of Marketing Doug Palladini. “We’re excited to offer our support of Ryan, Brett and the rest of the Monster Energy / Pro Circuit Kawasaki riders this season.

“Vans has been very good to our team over the years. We are very grateful that Vans has decided to step up there support with our team. The most important thing is what the riders think of the product and everybody loves Vans,” said Mitch Payton, Pro Circuit owner.

The Vans motocross team includes Pro Circuit riders Ryan Villopoto and Brett Metcalfe in addition to pros Michael Byrne, Austin Stroupe, Nick Wey and Ashley Fiolek, amateurs Adam Cianciarulo and Eli Tomac plus freestyle riders Mat Rebeaud and Myles Richmond.

For more information on Vans and Vans’ Motocross, please visit