Villopoto Wraps It Up | 2014 New Jersey SX

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto put an exclamation point on the penultimate round of the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross Series by earning his 40th career win and clinching his fourth-consecutive Supercross Championship aboard his Mike Williamson-tuned Kawasaki KX450F. GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac and Sycuan Casino/RCH Racing’s Josh Hill rounded out the podium.

Monster Energy Supercross Championship 

Ryan Villopoto | 1st Place

Defending Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto made a statement as he put the wraps on his fourth-consecutive Supercross championship. RV won his heat race and earned first pick on the starting line for the main, a privilege he credited as crucial to his main event win. After assuming the lead exiting turn one, RV was never headed as he raced off with a flawless victory.


Eli Tomac | 2nd Place

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac earned the second 450 podium finish of his career in New Jersey and finished a lonely second. Tomac said that he felt right at hoe in the rutted conditions, but that some arm pump slowed him towards the end of the race.


Josh Hill | 3rd Place

Sycuan Casino/RCH Racing’s Justin Hill earned his first podium finish of the season in New Jersey, riding with the skill and speed that made him a favorite at any race only a few short years ago before his paralyzing injuries. Hill looked comfortable in the tricky conditions, and prepared for more rainfall by tucking a shop towel into his waistband, should he have gone down in the mud and needed something to wipe his grips with.


Justin Barcia | 4th Place

Hometown hero Justin Barcia was mired at the start of the 20-lap main event, but the Muscle Milk Honda rider plugged away throughout the race and worked into fourth by the checkers. Barcia displaced both former Supercross Champion Ryan Dungey, and his arch rival Ken Roczen in the middle of the race, with the latter battle bringing the crowd to its feet.


Ken Roczen | 5th Place

Ken Roczen got a poor start in the 450 main event and along with Ryan Dungey and Justin Barcia, freight-trained up into the top five by the end of the race. The Red Bull KTM rider traded positions with Barcia several times, but in the end he was forced to settle for fifth. “It’s not great, but this is the most satisfied I have ever been with a fifth,” said Roczen.


Main Event Results

1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
2. Eli Tomac (Hon)
3. Josh Hill (Suz)
4. Justin Barcia (Hon)
5. Ken Roczen (KTM)
6. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
7. Mike Alessi (Suz)
8. Andrew Short (KTM)
9. Trey Canard (Hon)
10. Weston Peick (Suz)
11. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
12. Phil Nicoletti (Yam)
13. Nick Wey (Kaw)
14. Ronnie Stewart (Suz)
15. Chris Blose (Hon)
16. Josh Grant (Yam)
17. Ben Lamay (Yam)
18. Tony Archer (Kaw)
19. Jimmy Albertson (Hon)
20. Cody Gilmore (Kaw)
21. Tevin Tapia (Suz)
22. James Stewart (Suz)

Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series Point Standings (After 16 of 17 rounds)

1. Ryan Villopoto (343 points/5 wins)
2. Ryan Dungey (282/1)
3. James Stewart (271/5)
4. Chad Reed (265/2)
5. Justin Barcia (232)
6. Andrew Short (207)
7. Justin Brayton (196)
8. Josh Hill (144)
9. Broc Tickle (126)
10. Wil Hahn (122)