Photos by Ryne Swanberg

The 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship continues on with round five taking place at High Point Raceway, a famed track in rural Pennsylvania. After more than a month of non-stop action, the championships in both classes are starting to become incredibly interesting with riders reaffirming their rank in the order with each moto. Ryan Dungey retains control of the 450 class over defending titlist Ken Roczen, but the point margin between the two riders is constantly in flux.

450 Moto One

Justin Barcia and Christophe Pourcel were wheel-to-wheel heading into the first turn, with Barcia taking the lead after a risky dive-bomb at the apex of the corner. This was just the first pass of many between the two, as they swapped the spot a handful of times until Barcia took over a few laps into the race. Their bout allowed the pack to stay in close proximity, with Ryan Dungey ultimately benefiting the most. The Red Bull KTM rider snuck into the top spot after a few fast laps and swift passes, then left the rest of the riders to battle amongst themselves.

While Dungey ran unchallenged up front, RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John's/Suzuki Factory Racing's Ken Roczen and Pourcel kept things interesting. Pourcel held second place through the first half of the moto and kept Roczen at bay with unique lines around the rough circuit, but as the laps tapered off, the defending champion forced his way into the position. On the podium Roczen commented about Pourcel's line choices, saying the Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna rider had frustrated him through the middle of the moto by cutting the track.

Pourcel's teammate Jason Anderson survived the melee of the moto's early laps and quietly climbed to fourth in the running order. Although he ran alone through the late laps, he finished within a few seconds of the race leaders. This finish would prove to be important later in the afternoon.

450 Moto One Results
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Ken Roczen
3. Christophe Pourcel
4. Jason Anderson
5. Justin Barcia
6. Broc Tickle
7. Cole Seely
8. Fredrik Noren
9. Justin Brayton
10. Wil Hahn
11. Weston Peick
12. Kyle Cunningham
13. Ryan Sipes
14. Kyle Chisholm
15. Jesse Wentland
16. Gannon Audette
17. Matt Lemoine
18. Tony Archer
19. Jason Brooks
20. Broc Schemelyun

450 Moto Two

Justin Barcia and Christophe Pourcel once again ushered the field through the first turn, with Pourcel taking the holeshot over Barcia while Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey followed closely behind. This grouping made the opening laps exciting, since Barcia and Pourcel did all they could to keep Roczen and Dungey from taking their front spots. Roczen was the first to strike and after two quick passes, had taken over the lead. Dungey's advancement was a bit slower, due in part to Barcia's resiliency, but eventually the title contenders ran 1-2 at the front of the field.

The gap between the two varied through the rest of the race. Roczen would open up a sizeable lead, only to see Dungey close back in after a few consistent laps. Between the two riders, Dungey was noticeably quicker; he reduced Roczen's once three second lead to less than a full second before the closing laps of the race. Just when an epic duel seemed imminent, lappers came between the two and ended any chance of a late-race pass. Roczen managed to knife through the slower riders, but Dungey struggled to follow suit. With that, Roczen ran to the finish line alone and ahead by almost eleven seconds.

Jason Anderson once again pushed through field into a top-five spot (this time third place), and his consistency was rewarded with third place overall finish on the day. This was the rookie's second straight overall podium and his third of the season.

450 Moto Two Results
1. Ken Roczen
2. Ryan Dungey
3. Jason Anderson
4. Justin Barcia
5. Christophe Pourcel
6. Weston Peick
7. Phil Nicoletti
8. Broc Tickle
9. Wil Hahn
10. Cole Seely
11. Blake Baggett
12. Fredrik Noren
13. Ryan Sipes
14. Justin Brayton
15. Kyle Chisholm
16. Matt Lemoine
17. Kyle Cunningham
18. John Short
19. Jesse Wentland
20. Gannon Audette

Overall Results
1. Ken Roczen 2-1
2. Ryan Dungey 1-2
3. Jason Anderson 4-3
4. Christophe Pourcel 3-5
5. Justin Barcia 5-4
6. Broc Tickle 6-8
7. Weston Peick 11-6
8. Cole Seely 7-10
9. Wil Hahn 10-9
10. Fredrik Noren 8-12
11. Justin Brayton 9-14
12. Ryan Sipes 13-13
13. Phil Nicoletti 40-7
14. Kyle Chisholm 14-15
15. Kyle Cunningham 12-17
16. Blake Baggett 34-11
17. Matt Lemoine 17-16
18. Jesse Wentland 15-19
19. Gannon Audette 16-20
20. John Short 21-18
21. Tony Archer 18-30
22. Jason Brooks 19-22
23. Broc Schmelyun 20-35
24. Kevin Rookstool 23-23
25. Jake Loberg 24-24
26. Ronnie Stewart 26-25
27. Daniel Herrlein 25-26
28. Heath Harrison 22-34
29. Michael Akaydin 29-28
30. Noah McConahy 37-21
31. Jeremy Smith 31-29
32. Carson Tickle 32-31
33. Bernard Slusser 30-33
34. Travis Sewell 27-36
35. Nick Fratz-Orr 33-32
36. Evgeny Mikhaylov28-37
37. Ryan Zimmer 39-27
38. Killy Rusk 35-38
39. Chad Reed 36-40
40. Shane Durham 38-39

450 Class Point Standings (After 10 of 24 motos)
1. Ryan Dungey 222 points | 3 moto wins
2. Ken Roczen 185 points | 2 moto wins
3. Jason Anderson 150 points
4. Justin Barcia 148 points
5. Blake Baggett 145 points
6. Broc Tickle 131 points
7. Weston Peick 129 points
8. Eli Tomac 125 points | 5 moto wins
9. Christophe Pourcel 115 points
10. Phil Nicoletti 106 points