Photos: Ryne Swanberg

The 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship continued to trek across the country, stopping this week in the Southeast for round four of the twelve round series. Muddy Creek Raceway has been on the schedule for a few years, but the quick Tennessee track has quickly become an important event for riders vying for the championship. If you can make it through the year's first hit of heavy humidity, there's little doubt left regarding in your physical fitness. We're already one-third of the way through the summer and both title fights have tightened up dramatically. It's disappointing to see Eli Tomac's departure from the 450 class due to injury, but now we're set to see the rematch of last summer's fight between Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen.

450 Moto One

AutoTrader/Toyota/Yamaha teammates Phil Nicoletti and Justin Barcia paced the field at the start of the moto, until a crash struck Barcia and gave Nicoletti complete control. With Barcia down, Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna's Jason Anderson and Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey moved up the order and after Nicoletti. For a few laps the top three ran closely, with Dungey taking advantage of the situation to move from third to first in just a few short moments, while Anderson slipped up to third. For the remainder of the moto, Dungey and Anderson ran one-two, with the win going to Dungey by just over twenty-seven seconds.

Ken Roczen started inside the top-ten, but an intense battle with Weston Peick slowed his ascent up the running order. The two went at it early, with Roczen finally getting clear of the AutoTrader/Toyota/Yamaha rider and turning his attention to the leaders before the halfway mark of the moto. A number of quick laps allowed the RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John's/Suzuki Factory Racing rider to close on Anderson, yet they would avoid a heads-up fight for the runner-up spot.

Yoshimura Suzuki's Blake Baggett caught fire late in the moto, as the Yoshimura Suzuki rider posted his fastest times while others slowed in the waning moments. On the final lap, Baggett came within feet of Nicoletti for fourth place and the two pushed until the checkered flag, where Nicoletti took the spot by less than a second.

1. Ryan Dungey
2. Jason Anderson
3. Ken Roczen
4. Phil Nicoletti
5. Blake Baggett
6. Weston Peick
7. Broc Tickle
8. Cole Seely
9. Justin Barcia
10. Fredrik Noren
11. Justin Brayton
12. Ryan Sipes
13.  Wil Hahn
14. Matt Lemoine
15. Kyle Chisholm
16. Tony Archer
17. Gannon Audette
18. Chad Reed
19. Jason Brooks
20. Broc Schmelyun

450 Moto Two

RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John's/Suzuki Factory Racing's Ken Roczen was up front from the start, with Cole Seely and Ryan Dungey in tow. The defending champion's lead was aided by the race for second place between Team Honda HRC rider Seely and Red Bull KTM rider Dungey, which after few close calls and a final pass, put Dungey ahead a third of the way through the moto. When this finally occurred, Roczen was already ahead by eight seconds and clocking some of his quickest laps of the moto. This did little to deter Dungey, who upped his own pace and cut away massive portions of Roczen's early lead.

It seemed like a battle between the two was set to occur in the last laps, until a small tip-over by Dungey destroyed all of his progress on Roczen. The two quietly pushed through the final laps of the race, with Roczen taking his first moto win of the year by a near nine-second margin.

Yoshimura Suzuki's Blake Baggett blasted through the middle moments of the moto, again posting some of his best times while others started to slow on the deteriorating course, and got up to third place at the checkered flag. His efforts were admirable, yet not enough to best rival Jason Anderson in points scored on the day; 2-4 finishes gave the Rockstar Energy Racing the advantage by four points.

1. Ken Roczen
2. Ryan Dungey
3. Blake Baggett
4. Jason Anderson
5. Cole Seely
6. Justin Barcia
7. Broc Tickle
8. Justin Brayton
9. Phil Nicoletti
10. Ryan Sipes
11. Weston Peick
12. Fredrik Noren
13. Kyle Chisholm
14. Christophe Pourcel
15. Killian Rusk
16. Wil Hahn
17. Matt Lemoine
18. Jesse Wentland
19. John Short
20. Broc Schmelyun

Overall Results

1. Ryan Dungey 1-2
2. Ken Roczen 3-1
3. Jason Anderson 2-4
4. Blake Baggett 5-3
5. Phil Nicoletti 4-9
6. Cole Seely 8-5
7. Broc Tickle 7-7
8. Justin Barcia 9-6
9. Weston Peick 6-11
10. Justin Brayton 11-8
11. Ryan Sipes 12-10
12. Fredrik Noren 10-12
13. Kyle Chisholm 15-13
14. Wil Hahn 13-16
15. Matt Lemoine 14-17
16. Christophe Pourcel 22-14
17. Kyle Cunningham 14-40
18. Killy Rusk 29-15
19. Tony Archer 16-25
20. Gannon Audette 17-21

2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship 450 Class (After 8 of 24 motos)
1. Ryan Dungey – 175 points | 2 moto wins
2. Ken Roczen – 138 points | 1 moto win
3. Blake Baggett – 135 points
4. Eli Tomac – 125 points | 5 moto wins
5. Justin Barcia – 114 points
6. Jason Anderson – 112 points
7. Weston Peick – 104 points
8. Broc Tickle – 103 points
9. Phil Nicoletti – 92 points
10. Cole Seely – 79 points