YOU-15-5476_SMX Riders' and Manufacturers' Cup Facebook cover_V5 copy

This weekend the 2016 Monster Energy SMX Riders Cup, a brand-new event from the MXGP promoters, will take place at the Veltins Arena in Germany. Announced last year and highly promoted through the last few months, it’ll pit riders from the six main motocross manufacturers against each for bragging rights of “fastest brand.” The stakes are high for this race, as brands have assigned their top talent to the task, and this will be a rare chance for the international riders to face off on a special course. Here’s a quick breakdown of how things will score…

– Each manufacturer (KTM, Honda, Husqvarna, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Suzuki), will have a team of four riders. Three main riders and one 'Joker'. The Joker can replace any rider on the team at any time.

– Three wild card riders will be attending. They will not take part in the Superpole session, so they will go to the line at the position 8/16/24. They will not compete for the Manufacturers Prize, but only for the overall Prize.

– The riders can ride any bike they want between 245cc to 450cc, regardless of their age. It also doesn't matter if the engine is four-stroke or two-stroke.

– Each team will have one team captain, and that rider will race the 'Superpole'.

– The Superpole is a Two-Lap sprint. Only seven riders enter, one from each brand.

– The team whose rider is the fastest in the Superpole will have the 1/9/17 gate pick, the second one will have 2/10/18, and so on.

– Three main races will be raced. There will be three riders per team. The team with the lowest score at the end of the event will win.

– The manufacturer point system is like the riders' points system: one point for first, two points for second, three points for third, ect.

– There will be nine scores from each team on the board. The seven best scores are counted. The worst two results are dropped.

– Prize money for the individual overall winner:

1st: €50,000 ($56,027.50)

2nd: €30,000 ($33,616.50)

3rd: €20,000 ($22,411.00)

– The best placed MX2 rider will receive €10,000 ($11,205.50)

– The riders points system is one point for first place, two points for second place, three points for third place, etc.

Prize money for the winning manufacturer:

1st: €50,000 ($56,027.50)

2nd: €30,000 ($33,616.50)

3rd: €20,000 ($22,411.00)

– In addition to the main events, there will be two junior classes in the form of the SMX125cc and a YZ125 Cup which is an invitational race for Yamaha riders, arranged by Yamaha and the national federations across Europe.

So in a way, it’s like the Motocross of Nations, except brand honor is up for grabs instead of patriotism. Who did the OEMs put on their rosters? Check out the announced list of competitors for each team…


Tim Gajser, Gautier Paulin, Evgeny Bobryshev


Romain Febvre,Yannis Irsuti, Brent Van doninck


Jeremy Seewer, Arminas Jasikonis, Jake Weimer


Jordi Tixier, Tommy Searle,Vsevolod Brylyakov


Ryan Dungey, Marvin Musquin, Jeffrey Herlings


Zach Osborne, Thomas Covington, Christophe Charlier

Since the MXGP organizers specialize in motocross and most of their competitors have little experience on an American-style Supercross track, the indoor course will be a unique creation. The floor of the Veltins Arena will be filled with a flowing, fast-paced layout that will feature obstacles that would look perfect on an outdoor track.

Unless you’re able to catch a last-minute flight to Germany, there are two possible options to watch the race. A pay-per-view broadcast will stream live and in full on on Saturday, while a three-hour tape-delayed edition will air in North America on CBS Sports on Sunday afternoon at 1PM EST/10AM PST.