2017 Motocross Of Nations | Team Belgium Announced

Lieber, Desalle & Van Horebeek


Team Belgium has announced their three-rider team for the 2017 Motocross of Nations. Julien Lieber will race the MX2 (250cc) class while Clement Desalle races the MXGP (450cc) class and Jeremy Van Horebeek the Open (450cc) class. All three riders have represented Belgium at the event in the past, with Van Horebeek being the only rider from the team’s fourth place finishing lineup at the 2016 running of the event.

Lieber’s 2017 season has been remarkable, as the rider missed all of 2016 with an injury and returned to action as a well-supported independent in the MX2 class. He is currently ranked fifth overall in the MX2 championship and recently signed to move to Monster Energy Kawasaki’s MXGP team for 2018. Desalle has shown consistency through the season with Monster Energy Kawasaki MXGP and has scored multiple wins, which puts him fourth in the MXGP championship. Van Horebeek has ridden well through the year with Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP crew and a number of top-ten finishes have kept him in eighth overall in the MXGP championship, despite missing a pair of races.

All three riders have represented Belgium at the event in the past: Leiber in 2014 and 2015, Desalle in 2009-2010-2012-2013, and Van Horebeek in 2007-2008-2010-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016.

The 2017 Motocross of Nations takes place September 29th-October 1st at Matterley Basin in England. The event’s official website is www.mxon17.com.