Great Britain, the host nation of the 2017 Motocross of Nations, have announced the three-rider team that will compete at the international event. Tommy Searle will step down to fill the MX2 (250cc) role while Max Anstie fills the MXGP (450cc) role and Dean Wilson the Open (450cc) role.

The decision to put Searle on the 250 instead of Anstie is somewhat surprising. Monster Energy DRT Kawasaki rider Searle has spent much of the past year sidelined with injuries and over the weekend lined up in the MXGP class for the first time this year, while Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing rider Anstie is in the midst of his rookie season in the MXGP class (Anstie is ranked twelfth in the MXGP championship standings). Both riders have been a part of the British MXON efforts for years, including last year in Italy. Dean Wilson’s inclusion to the lineup comes after the US-based rider was passed over many times by past team principals, but new Team Manager Mark Chamberlain stated that the Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna rider’s results in the United States are hard to ignore (Wilson is ranked fourth in the 450 class championship standings).

Team Great Britain finished seventh overall at the 2016 Motocross of Nations.

The 2017 Motocross of Nations takes place September 29th-October 1st at Matterley Basin in England. The event’s official website is www.mxon17.com.