2017 Motocross Of Nations | Team Australia Announced

Lawrence, Ferris & Gibbs


Team Australia has announced their three-rider team for the 2017 Motocross of Nations. It will comprise of Hunter Lawrence in the MX2 (250cc) role alongside Dean Ferris in the MXGP (450cc) and Kirk Gibbs in the Open (450cc) roles.

Lawrence is based in Europe and races for Team Suzuki World MX as a rookie in the Monster Energy FIM Motocross World Championship. Despite missing two rounds, the teenager is ranked ninth in the MX2 championship. Gibbs and Ferris, meanwhile, are full-time competitors in the MX1 division of the Motul MX National championship in Australia. CDR Yamaha-supported Ferris recently clinched the MX1 title while KTM Racing Team-supported Gibbs is second overall in the standings.

Ferris has represented Australia multiple times at the MXON, but this will be the first time Lawrence and Gibbs have competed at the event. Australia finished eighth overall at last year’s running of the Motocross of Nations in Italy.

The 2017 Motocross of Nations takes place September 29th-October 1st at Matterley Basin in England. The event's official website is www.mxon17.com.