AGUEDA (PORTUGAL), 9 May 2009 – De Dycker and Frossard fully exploited the opening day of the Portuguese GP taking pole in the MX1 and MX2 classes respectively.

Coppins battled tooth and nail with the Belgian before settling into second in the MX1 qualifying heat while local hero Rui Goncalves crashed after leading the opening laps of the MX2 heat.


Yamaha Monster Motocross' Coppins took the holeshot and was closely followed by team mate Philippaerts, though the latter crashed twice to finish tenth.

LS Motors Honda's Desalle almost dominated the race after passing Coppins but the Belgian was caught off guard by the Kiwi who moved past for first. Desalle ran wide and let also De Dycker by settling for an eventual third.

De Dycker reached Coppins and battled it out for the victory which he caught at the very last lap of an exciting heat-De Dycker became the first rider this season to take two poles. Coppins ended a bitter second.

Yamaha Red Bull De Carli's Cairoli rode strong to take fourth as he had to defend the spot from a very hungry Nagl of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing-the German ended sixth after Leok moved past him with three laps to go.

After winning the latest GP in Valkenswaard, Barragan struggled with an injured left shoulder and took 12th.

Having both their riders Marc de Reuver and Kevin Strijbos missing, the Martin Honda MX Team announced they will try and find a replacement as soon as possible-the goal is the GP in Bellpuig next weekend. Spokesmen Lorenzo Resta of Martin Honda MX and Roger Harvey of Honda Europe also expressed appreciation for the continuous support shown by the FIM Motocross World Championship collective during this difficult moment.

MX1 Qualifying Race top ten: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 23:56.626; ; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:01.519; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:02.351; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:02.929; 5. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:11.117; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:13.239; 7. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:27.221; 8. David Vuillemin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:32.100; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:35.361; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:40.996;

Complete results available at


The crowd was set on fire at the start of the MX2 qualifying heat as local favourite Rui Goncalves of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing took the holeshot and started to pull away with the lead.

Though the winner of the latest GP in Valkenswaard found a strong opponent in the likes of Frenchman Steven Frossard. The CLS man moved past at lap five and just pulled away to secure his first ever qualifying heat win. Goncalves dropped down until he tangled up with Musquin. Both riders crashed, Goncalves finished twelfth and Musquin retired after his exhaust pipe set on fire once he picked the bike back up.

Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci Motocross' Guarneri settled for second ahead of team mate Larrieu. Van Horebeek finished fourth ahead of Championship leader Paulin. The latter got stuck at the first lap and had to recover from the bottom of the top 15.

Debutant Roczen was 26th after he crashed on the start straight.

Tarroux and Osborne will not take part in tomorrow's Portuguese GP as both injured today.

MX2 Qualifying Race top ten: 1. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 24:10.240; ; 2. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:05.540; 3. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +0:09.248; 4. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), +0:11.370; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:14.234; 6. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:26.445; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), +0:32.113; 8. Marcus Schiffer (GER, KTM), +0:32.657; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Yamaha), +0:35.441; 10. Khounsith Vongsana (FRA, Honda), +0:40.362;


Circuit length: 1650 mt

Temperature: 25° C

Weather conditions: cloudy

Sunday: WMX Warm Up 8:45-9:05; MX2 Warm Up 9:15-9:35; MX1 Warm Up 9:45-10:05; WMX Race 2 11:15; MX2 Grand Prix Race 1 12:10; MX1 Grand Prix Race 1 13:10; MX2 Grand Prix Race 2 15:03; MX1 Grand Prix Race 2 16:03.

As the whole FIM Motocross World Championship, this Grand Prix and the FIM Women's World Championship Race 2 will be broadcast live and delayed. Click here to see schedule and coverage online.