Galfer Riders Lead the Pack Through Oakland

Galfer Riders Lead the Pack Through Oakland

Oakland, Calif. - January 29, 2013 –┬áRockstar Energy Suzuki-rider Davi Millsaps has certainly made his presence felt in the 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series. Having earned the coveted "red plate" at Round 1 in Anaheim, Millsaps has refused to relinquish his grasp on the 450cc points lead.

Millsaps felt at home early on the rutted Oakland soil, establishing himself as the rider to beat by winning the first heat race of the evening. Millsaps continued to build momentum through the main event, where he took home his third podium performance of the season with a second-place finish. Millsaps was able to extend his points lead to seven in Oakland and is excited to build on his success as the series progresses.

Galfer Sponsored Davi Millsaps at Oakland
(Photo Courtesy of Rockstar Energy Racing)

JGR Toyota Yamaha rider #10 Justin Brayton secured his gate in the main event with a sixth-place 450cc heat race finish. Brayton fought his way to a tenth-place main event place aboard his Galfer-equipped machine. Fellow JGR Toyota Yamaha pilot #33 Josh Grant rode a flawless heat race on his way to capturing fifth. In the main event, Grant fell victim to one of the largest pile-ups in recent history. Just two turns from the drop of the gate, one of the premiere riders of the series lost control while negotiating the whoop section and subsequently took out several top riders. The crash relegated Grant to 16th position in the evening's 450cc main event, but he is healthy and hopeful to come back strong next weekend. KTM rider #62 Matt Goerke has been performing at a new level in 2013. Goerke is riding his Galfer-equipped KTM450 with confidence and speed. Goerke put in his best performance of 2013 in Oakland, turning in a fourth-place 450cc heat race finish and a very impressive season-best sixth-place 450cc main event ride. Goerke's KTM teammate, #54 Les Smith, also rode himself into the 450cc main event with a ninth-place heat race finish. Smith continued to improve throughout the night, accomplishing his best result of the season by finishing 14th in the 450cc main event.

Motoconcepts Racing/Smartop 450cc rider #800 Mike Alessi had a breakthrough performance in Oakland. Alessi used a quick start to finish third in his heat race, and continued the momentum as he grabbed a season-best fifth place in the 450cc main event. Alessi's Motoconcepts Racing/Smartop 250cc teammate, #23 Jake Canada, captured fifth place in the first 250cc heat race of the night. Early in the main event, however, Canada experienced a misfortune that relegated him to a 19th place finish.

RCH Dodge Sycuan Suzuki #20 rider Broc Tickle overcame a heat race incident to claw his way into the 450cc main event with a win in the Last Chance Qualifier. In spite of his less-than-desirable route to the main event, once on the line Tickle was poised and ready to do battle. Tickle rode all 20-laps with conviction and accomplished his best result of the 2013 season thus far with and eighth-place performance.

250cc Rockstar Energy Suzuki rider #21 Jason Anderson was on point from the very first practice session in Oakland. Anderson was smooth and confident as he maneuvered his Galfer-equipped RMZ250 to a third-place heat race finish. When the gate dropped on the main event, Anderson rode like a man possessed to capture his first podium finish of 2013 with a third-place finish.

Look for the continued success of Galfer-equipped riders next weekend in Anaheim, California, for round 5 of the 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series.

The 2013 Galfer Supercross roster includes the following racers and teams:

#10 450cc Justin Brayton JGR Toyota Yamaha
#13 250cc East Blake Wharton Rockstar Energy Suzuki
#18 450cc Davi Millsaps Rockstar Energy Suzuki
#20 450cc Broc Tickle RCH Dodge Sycuan Suzuki
#21 250cc West Jason Anderson Rockstar Energy Suzuki
#23 250cc West Jake Canada Motoconcepts/Smartop Racing
#26 450cc Michael Byrne BTOSports KTM
#30 250cc East Nico Izzi Rockstar Energy Suzuki
#33 450cc Josh Grant JGR Toyota Yamaha
#35 250cc West Ryan Sipes Rockstar Energy Suzuki
#46 450cc Weston Peick HyperX/R2MX/
#54 450cc Les Smith KTM
#62 450cc Matt Goerke KTM
#67 250cc East Gavin Faith Motoconcepts/Smartop Racing
#72 250cc West Dakota Tedder Team Tedder
#93 450cc Landen Powell Rocky Mountain ATV
#98 250cc West Chris Plouffe 51Fifty Energy Drink
#99 250cc East Preston Mull 51Fifty Energy Drink
#792 250cc West Bracken Hall Rocky Mountain ATV
#800 450cc Mike Alessi Motoconcepts/Smartop Racing