Rain, high temps, and high humidity hit the third round of the Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Championship this weekend in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania. In the three rounds of the 250 class, there has been a new winner every week. This week, it was the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider Tyla Rattray who came out on top. After his second moto win at Freestone last weekend, Rattray came out to Pennsylvania very confident, hoping to ride the momentum from his previous good finish. A 2-2 finish gave Rattray an overall, and also his very first 250 motocross victory. In the 450 class, Ryan Dungey was able to show that his 1-1 finish in Texas wasn’t a fluke, as he once again finished 1-1 at High Point. The win marked his second career 450 Class victory and his second in a row. It also pushed him into the points lead as the series heads into round four next week at Budds Creek.


Moto 1

When the 40 riders lined up on the gate, the track had went from perfect, to complete mud, as heavy rain beat on the track. When it was time for the gate to drop, Christophe Pourcel blasted off the line and led the pack into the first corner. As Pourcel tried to ride smooth on the muddy track, a barely visible, mud covered Justin Barcia made his away around Pourcel. Once Barcia moved into first, he put a huge gap on the French rider. Pourcel ended up losing a position to Tyla Rattray, and the Pro Circuit rider quickly started to close the gap up on Barcia.  At about the halfway point, the rain had stopped falling and the track began to work its way back into decent shape. Once that happened, Blake Bagget was able to put on a hard charge, and by the 14th lap, he moved his way from 12th to third.  Rattray was able to close the gap on Barcia to about five seconds at one point, but Barcia picked up the pace, and Rattray settled into second.

On the podium, Rattray credited his mud riding performance to his experience of riding in Europe in the Grand Prix circuit.



1. Justin Barcia (Hon)

2. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)

3. Blake Baggett (Suz)

4. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw)

5. Dean Wilson (Kaw)

6. Tommy Searle (KTM)

7. Jake Weimer (Kaw)

8. Blake Wharton (Hon)

9. Broc Tickle (Yam)

10. Eli Tomac (Hon)

Moto 2

When the 30-second board went up for the second moto, Pourcel once again grabbed the holeshot on the other 39 riders. Pourcel continued to lead the pack on the second lap, while Dean Wilson, Tyla Rattray, Martin Davalos, and Blake Wharton rounded off the top five positions. Wilson was beginning to catch up with Pourcel, but then he ended up crashing on the third lap. Wilson eventually got up, and remounted in seventh. By the halfway point, Pourcel, Rattray, Davalos, Wharton, and Nico Izzi took the top five spots. Once again, rain started to fall on the 250 race, and the running order started to change up as Wharton, Trey Canard, and Broc Tickle had moved their way up into third, fourth, and fifth. When the checkers flew, Rattray’s 2-2 finish had put him in the position for his first 250 career overall win.


So what happened with moto one winner Justin Barcia? Barcia got tangled up on the first lap, and his header pipe was smashed in; which caused a severe lack of power. The Geico Powersports/Honda rider crossed the finishline 21st.

[Gallery = 6166]


1. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw)

2. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)

3. Blake Wharton (Hon)

4. Trey Canard (Hon)

5. Broc Tickle (Yam)

6. Dean Wilson (Kaw)

7. Martin Davalos (Yam)

8. Wil Hahn (Hon)

9. Blake Baggett (Suz)

10. Darryn Durham (Hon)

250 Class Overall

1. Tyla Rattray (Kaw) 2-2

2. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw) 4-1

3. Blake Wharton (Hon) 8-3

4. Blake Baggett (Suz) 3-9

5. Dean Wilson (Kaw) 5-6

6. Broc Tickle (Yam) 9-5

7. Trey Canard (Hon) 14-4

8. Justin Barcia (Hon) 1-21

9. Martin Davalos (Yam) 11-7

10. Jake Weimer (Kaw) 7-11

250 Class Championship Standings

1. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw) 129

2. Tyla Rattray (Kaw) 102

3. Dean Wilson (Kaw) 100

4. Trey Canard (Hon) 93

5. Eli Tomac (Hon) 90

6. Broc Tickle (Yam) 89

7. Jake Weimer (Kaw) 80

8. Justin Barcia (Hon) 79

9. Wil Hahn (Hon) 72

10. Tommy Searle (KTM) 60


Moto 1

When the gate dropped on the first moto of the 450 Class, Ryan Dungey blasted off the line with Josh Grant and Andrew Short close behind in second and third. Dungey didn’t hold onto the number one spot for long, though, as Grant quickly made his way around the Suzuki rider. When the second lap was completed, Grant, Dungey, Short, Mike Alessi, and Ben Townley ran in the top five positions. Coming from seventh place on the first lap, Tommy Hahn caught up with the top five, and by the third lap, Hahn ran on the inside of Townley, and he squeezed his way into fifth. Hahn kept the forward momentum, and then made a pass on Alessi for fourth. His fourth place spot didn’t last long, though, and Alessi got him back on the same lap. When the race had reached the halfway point, Dungey had caught up to the rear wheel of Grant, and began to push for the lead. Right went the rain started to fall, Dungey had made his pass on Grant. Grant wasn’t able to charge back, and he eventually settled into second. Meanwhile, Short stayed in third from the start to the finish. Hahn had made a mistake, and he fell all the way back to 11th, which moved up Townley and Matt Goerke into fourth and fifth respectively.


1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

2. Josh Grant (Yam)

3. Andrew Short (Hon)

4. Ben Townley (Hon)

5. Matt Goerke (Yam)

6. Brett Metcalfe (Hon)

7. Mike Alessi (KTM)

8. Davi Millsapps

9. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)

10. Ryan Sipes (Yam)

Moto 2

As the riders lined up on the gate for the second moto, all eyes were on the Suzuki rider of Dungey, but it was the other Suzuki rider of Tommy Hahn who had grabbed the holeshot. His first place position didn’t last long, though, as Short, Alessi, Grant, Ryan Sipes, and Dungey completed the first lap in the top five. Things were looking pretty comfortable for Short as the battle was starting to heat up for the second place position. Alessi tried to hold of Grant, but the JGR/Yamaha made the pass on the second lap. When Grant started to put a charge on Short, he got a flat tire near the end of the third lap, and he quickly fell back. This opened the door for Alessi, Dungey, Brett Metcalfe, and Hahn.


At about the 25-minute mark, the crowd started to erupt as the moto one winner of Dungey had caught up with Short. Unable to hold off Dungey, Short fell back into second. Alessi was off the pace that his competition had, and he lost two positions to Metcalfe and Hahn. When Dungey crossed the finish, he had a over a 10-second lead on Short, and the overall with a 1-1 finish. Dungey also moved his way into the series championship lead.

[Gallery = 6165]


1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

2. Andrew Short (Hon)

3. Brett Metcalfe (Hon)

4. Tommy Hahn (Suz)

5. Mike Alessi (KTM)

6. Ben Townley (Hon)

7. Matt Goerke (Yam)

8. Justin Brayton (Yam)

9. Nick Wey (Kaw)

10. Kyle Chisholm (Yam)

450 Class Overall

1. Ryan Dungey (Suz) 1-1

2. Andrew Short (Hon) 3-2

3. Brett Metcalfe (Hon) 6-3

4. Ben Townley (Hon) 4-6

5. Mike Alessi (KTM) 7-5

6. Matt Goerke (Yam) 5-7

7. Tommy Hahn (Suz) 11-4

8. Josh Grant (Yam) 2-24

9. Ryan Sipes (Yam) 10-11

10. Kyle Cunningham (Yam) 9-12

450 Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Dungey (Suz) 126

2. Brett Metcalfe (Hon) 101

3. Mike Alessi (KTM) 98

4. Chad Reed (Kaw) 95

5. Ben Townley (Hon) 87

6. Josh Grant (Yam) 82

7. Andrew Short (Hon) 79

8. Davi Millsaps (Hon) 76

9. Tommy Hahn (Suz) 71

10. Kyle Chisholm (Yam) 55