Nominees Announced for AFMXA Awards


First-Ever AFMXA Awards Show and West Coast Amateur Competition Brings the Past, Present and Future of FMX to Pala, CA on November 7th

Irvine, CA (October 30, 2009) – The American Freestyle Motocross Association ("AFMXA"), a governing collective of Freestyle Motocross riders and action sports industry leaders, today announced the nominees for the 2009 AFMXA Awards presented by FUEL TV, taking place at Pala Raceway and Casino in Pala, CA on November 7th. Established to recognize top athletes and companies for their accomplishments, commitment to and influence on the sport, the AFMXA sent out award ballots to over 40 professional FMX riders, and a winner in each category will be determined by highest number of votes. An all-access show will air on FUEL TV on December 28th at 8pm ET/5pm PT, and again at 11pm ET/8pm PT, in FUEL TV's "Meet & Brotatoes" programming block. Show coverage will also be featured on FUEL TV's web site ( in HD quality, and on the Association's site ( immediately following the broadcast.

Hosted by Metal Mulisha team rider and X Games Gold medalist, Todd Potter, and FUEL TV's Pat Parnell from "The Daily Habit," the AFMXA Awards will bring some of the biggest names in action sports together in one room to celebrate freestyle motocross and its talent. With a variety of categories, including Best Spread in a Magazine and Biggest Slam, this year's most dedicated rider will be recognized with the Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year award, in memory of fellow FMX gold medalist, Jeremy Lusk.

The 2009 AFMXA Awards nominees are:

Best Part in a Video
Jeremy Lusk – On the Pipe 5
Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg – Hood Rich
Mike Mason – On the Pipe 5

Biggest Slam
Beau Bamberg
Cameron Sinclair
Takayuki Higoshino

Best Spread In a Magazine
Blake Williams
Jeremy Lusk
Todd Potter

New Blood
Jackson Strong
Lance Coury
Levi Sherwood

Mucho Cohones
Cameron Sinclair
Robbie Maddison
Travis Pastrana

Unsung Hero
Dane Heron
Dr. Gus Gialamas
Lizz Leach

Legends Award
Brian Deegan
Mike Metzger
Travis Pastrana

Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year
Blake Williams
Jeremy Stenberg
Nate Adams

The 1st annual AFMXA Amateur Competition is scheduled to take place earlier the same day, and is shaping up to be filled with great young potential from around the world. Riders from Japan, Mexico, Canada and across U.S. are registered to compete. In order to qualify, riders must be at least 14 years of age and submit video entries to The deadline for submissions was October 20th, and. the top 10 selections chosen for best execution, style and innovation will be invited to compete in the event. The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place titles will be decided by a judging panel that includes Brian Deegan, Ronnie Faisst, Jeremy Stenberg, Mike Mason and Nate Adams, among others.

To check out clips and photos from the events and see what the AFMXA is all about, go to

# # #

2009 AFMXA Amateur Event and Awards Ceremony Presented by FUEL TV Details:

AFMXA Amateur Competition AFMXA Awards Ceremony
November 7, 2009 November 7, 2009
8:00am – 2:00pm 6:00pm — 7:30pm
Pala Raceway Pala Casino
12799 Highway 76 11154 Highway 76
Pala, CA 92059 Pala CA 92059

About the AFMXA
Founded in 2009, the AFMXA is a non-profit organization that represents the interests of America's
Freestyle Motocross industry. A collective of professional, recreational, and corporate members, the
AFMXA was launched to assist in more formally organizing the sport and continue supporting its growth
and exposure. The Lusk Legacy Foundation, established to help improve overall safety in the sport, protect the livelihoods of riders and their families, and provide them with legal, medical and financial consultation and representation, has been named the official charitable organization for the AFMXA. Further information about our mission, events, membership and partners can be found online at

FUEL TV is the action sports lifestyle network for skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX, freestyle motocross, and wakeboarding. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, FUEL TV was launched July 1, 2003 and is seen in 30-million U.S. homes. To subscribe to FUEL TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit