Round 2 at Rocky Hill Draws 333 entries MoM continues to grow

Round 2 of the Masters of Mini on a perfect day this year, sunny and about 72 degrees. A far cry from last year’s Rocky Hill event, which was first rained out and later rescheduled on an overcast day. The 2007 series stop doubled last year’s attendance of 156 racers, making up 333 entries. With such a great turnout, 9 out of 10 classes required qualifiers and, for the first time, there was even an official Women’s Class.

CT River Motocross Park, which hosted the event, is owned and operated by Tony and Lisa Lorusso and has become the premiere riding facility in New England. So it was no surprise that the entire event transpired smoothly, complimenting the great weather and overwhelming turnout.

The day opened with an hour-long open practice. Rather than doing 3 and 4 lap practices for each class, the facility allowed the unique practice format due to the rather large size of the track. Formerly a Quad track, the track boasts smooth jumps, loamy terrain and sweeping turns big enough to be the first turn at a National..

Evan Arnold (68) won the Yoots class and now leads in overall points. Second Place went to Tim Ryan (5). Tim now sits second in the points in this 15-20 year old class behind Evan. Third went to new comer Tyler Lynch (991).

New England’s Billy Ainsworth (798) won the Middle Age class and, after a 4th place finish at Round 1, now leads the points for the series in this 20-29 year old class. Second went to newcomer Dennis Harnish (952) and third went to Chris Lavoie (110. Lavoie is now tied for second in the points with his brother Shawn (112) .

Returning Senior Class Champion Jay Ablaza (470) continued his dominance of his age group due in part to his holeshot mastery. Jay leads the 30+ year old class points chase with Todd Levesque (88) who finished third on the day close behind in second. First timer Chris Curtis (9) took the second place on the day.

The Fat Boy Class is shaping up to be quite a championship battle between last year’s “husky champion, Matt Gronowicz (74), and the portly Dave Hutchins (909). The two have swapped moto wins at each round leaving them tied at the end of two. Matt won this round with Dave right behind him. Third place on the day went to Cory Stetson (588).

The PoorBoy Class overall went to Joshua Sheffer (81) with Tim Slater (37) taking second, followed in third by Clint Johnson (611). All three were new faces to the 2007 series. AHP’s Mark Delorenzo (171) leads the points in the 49cc Division with a third in Round 1 and a sixth in Round 2.

The Modified Class is another battle in the making. Round 2 winner and current points leader in the 50-89cc class, Jay Healy, (93) and brother Tom (440), third in the points, are at war with Cody Madore (127) who sits in between the two brothers in points for second.

The Limited class overall went Luc Cotnoir Jr. (46) who made his first MoM appearance at Rocky Hill. He battled the entire race bar to bar with Senior class champ Jay Ablaza (470) who built a machine for the 90-110cc. Scott Levreault (114) took third. Brian Kennedy (3) leads the Limited class points with a 7th in Round 1 and a 5th at Round 2.

Last year’s Unlimited and Groms Class Champion, Todd Chrusciel (76) came out on top in the 10/12 Open. Todd is now in the driver’s seat in this Open 111cc+ class backing up his 2nd place at Round 1. Second place went to Jay Ablaza (470). Justin Maloney (221) took third place at his first MoM event for 2007.

Dakota Kessler (49) won the 10 Rockstar class. Tom Parsons (930), who came up all the way from Florida to test his skills against the rest of New England on his BBR backed machine, took second. Third on the day went to Bryan Wallace (381). MoM veteran, Chris Hutchison (33), leads the series points in this 10 Pro Open Class with a second at Round 1 and a fifth at Round 2.

Dakota Kessler (49) took top honors in the 12 Rockstar Classs followed by Bryan Wallace (381). Track Owner, groomer, and all around New England fast guy himself, Tony Lorusso (4), held on for third. Billy Ainsworth sits in the points lead in this 12 Premiere class.

As mentioned earlier, the strong female turnout invited a Women’s Class at Round 2. First place honors went to Shannon Courtney (12) out of Franklin, MA. Second place went to long time MoM veteran Jennie Lydon (86) out of Riverside, RI. Ashley Cotnoir (46) from the Milford Riders took third.

Two rounds are in the book with Round 3 coming up at a brand new MoM venue — Crow Hill MX in Templeton, MA.

The 2007 Masters of Mini is supported by only the best companies such as: TRANSWORLD MOTOCROSS MAGAZINE, BBR Motorsports, Sano Systems, Vitamin Water, Smart Water, Thumstar, Pitster Pro, Red Bull, i-Shock, Tri Star, HRP Sports, Spectro Oils, K Rae Graphics, Skorbordz, RS Films, Acerbis, OGIO, Waterville Valley Ski Area, Twin Air, Kenda Tires, AHP Minis, Fox Racing, Transworld SNOWboarding Magazine, Arai Helmets, ASV, Orlando Mini Moto, Scott USA, Planet Minis, Titan MX Graphics, FMF, One Industries, Spy Optics, Smith Optics, Works Connection, Factory Connection, Atomic Snowboards, TCX Boots, Matt Francis Photography, Moto Nut Racing, Two Feet South, and Mophie.

For more information on the 2007 Masters of Mini please call or visit our shop sponsors:
• Pete’s Cycle & Sled, MA
• Need for Speed, CT
• Cycles 128, MA
• RER Motorcity, CT
• Hutch Motorsports, MA
• Chaplin Kawasaki, CT
• Keene Motorsports, NH
• Higgins Powersports, MA
• Manchester Sports Center, CT
• Mototown Cycle Accessories, CT