2009 Red Bull X-Fighters Mexico City 
"Rubber Kid" Soars to Victory in the Plaza de Toros

MEXICO CITY (March 27, 2009) — A sell-out crowd of 43,000 FMX fans packed Mexico City's famous Monumental Plaza de Toros on Friday night to experience a true sensation at the first stop of the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2009. Freestyle motocross riders from eleven nations did battle in the biggest bullfighting ring in the world, with the winner, 17-year-old debutant Levi Sherwood, completing a lap of honour around the stadium carried on the fans’ shoulders. Second place went to a competitor almost twice his age, Japan's Eigo Sato.

For the fifth time since 2005, the world's best FMX riders defied gravity and clashed horns in the legendary Plaza de Toros in Mexico City. The bullfighting theme was present in all aspects of the event, with riders greeted to the arena with drums and fanfare, as is the tradition at a corrida, and waving white handkerchiefs in the air to show their satisfaction at the spectacular jumps performed.

Sherwood, the New Zealand rookie was most successful in taming the fearsome course comprising a range of kickers and a huge landing hill. The 17-year-old, competing in his first-ever event on the international FMX circuit, managed to come through the quarter and semi-finals as well as the final itself without picking up any injuries and brought the capacity crowd in the Mexican capital to their feet with stunning tricks.

Sato, Sherwood’s opponent in the final, could do no more than admit defeat and pay tribute to his conqueror. Third place went to Levi's mentor, defending series champion Mat Rebeaud, whom Sherwood, his apprentice, had beaten in the semi-final stage. The other riders simply looked on with astonishment.

"I'm better because, at my age, I am able to put my body through even more. Winning here is the best day of my life," commented "Rubber Kid" after securing victory. 

Final Result – Red Bull X-Fighters Mexico City 2009
1. Levi Sherwood (NZL/100 points) 
2. Eigo Sato (JPN/80 points) 
3. Mat Rebeaud (SUI/65 points)
4. Cameron Sinclair (AUS) 
5. Thomas Pages (FRA)
6. Andre Villa (NOR)
7. Adam Jones (USA)
8. Jeff Fehr (CAN)
9. Dany Torres (ESP)
10. Petr Pilat (CZE)
11. Johan Nungaray (MEX)

Red Bull X-Fighters is the biggest FMX series in the world, with the 2009 Tour visiting Mexico City, Calgary (May 30), Fort Worth (June 27), Madrid (July 16-17) and London (August 22).

For more information, please visit www.redbullxfighters.com