SCOTT Sports Arlington SX Recap

The 7th round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series took place last weekend at the famed Dallas Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX. The event also served as the opening round for the 250SX East Coast Championship series. There was new excitement in the air as a fresh roster of 250 riders lined up for a shot at the 250SX East Coast Championship. The Texas dirt would prove to be the biggest obstacle as the track became quite slick and claimed many throughout the day. Of those riders, JAB motorsports/SCOTT athletes Matt Lemoine and Gannon Audette were early victims of the slippery conditions. Both riders went down during practice and were unable to compete in the night shows.

250 SX East Coast

Heavily touted as the title favorite going into the Texas event, SCOTT athlete Dean Wilson topped the timing charts early on and would claim the fastest qualifying position the 250sx class. Wilson took that momentum into his heat race and came away with a dominating win. In the 250SX main event, Dean launched off the gate and never looked back, leading every lap en route to his first win of 2013. Wilson now leads the 250SX East point standings heading into the next race in Georgia.

SCOTT athlete and Supercross rookie Justin Hill had a great night in Dallas despite a few mistakes along the way. Justin was caught up in a first turn crash in his heat race and had to charge from the back of the pack to score 8th place, narrowly qualifying for the main event. In the main event, the rookie found himself battling from the back of the pack once again and would work his way up to 5th by the checkered flag. Hill now sits 5th overall in the 250SX point standings.

250SX East Region Point Standings
1. Dean Wilson 25pts Kaw
2. Blake Wharton 22pts Suz
3. Wil Hahn 20pts Hon
4. Kyle Peters 18pts Hon
5. Justin Hill 16pts Kaw
6. Marvin Musquin 15pts KTM
7. Gavin Faith 14pts Hon
8. Jimmy Decotis 13pts Hon
9. Vince Friese 12pts Hon
10. Lance Vincent 11pts KTM
11. Jackson Richardson 10pts Hon
12. Mitchell Oldenburg 9pts Hon
13. Gareth Swanepoel 8pts Kaw
14. Levi Kilbarger 7pts Hon
15. Adam Gulley 6pts Kaw
16. Ryan Zimmer 5pts Hon
17. Cole Thompson 4pts Hon
18. Zach Bell 3pts Hon
19. Bradley Ripple 2pts KTM
20. Jesse Wentland 1pt KTM

450SX Class

SCOTT athlete Trey Canard came into Texas looking for redemption after a few rounds where he didn’t finish where he wanted to. Texas is the closest race to his home in Oklahoma and as a result he had a lot of family and friends in the stands. Trey’s night started off with a 9th place finish in the 1st 450SX heat race after getting tangled up early on and having to fight for a qualifying position. Canard had a bad gate pick in the main event and his start would suffer as a result. Trey had to work through the field and was only able to climb to 7th at the end of the 20 lap Main event. Canard now sits 4th in the points standings.

The Dallas Supercross also served as the home track/race for SCOTT athlete Andrew Short, who lives nearby in Texas. Shorty qualified for the main event with a 6th place transfer spot in the 1st 450SX heat race. Like Canard, Short suffered from a bad start and found himself working through the pack in the main event. By the checkered flag, short crossed the line in 8th place. Short now sits 7th in the points chase.

SCOTT Athlete Justin (pooh) Sipes has been out recovering from an early season injury and Texas marked his first race back. Justin rode well, earning a spot in the main event with a 9th place finish in the second 450SX heat race. Sipes would go on to finish as respectable 17th in the Main event. Look for Sipes to rebound next weekend in Atlanta, Georgia where the 8th round of the AMA Supercross series will take place.

450SX Point Standings
1. Davi Millsaps 154pts Suz
2. Ryan Dungey 133pts KTM
3. Ryan Villopoto 130pts Kaw
4. Trey Canard 119pts Hon
5. Chad Reed 115pts Hon
6. Justin Barcia 98pts Hon
7. Andrew Short 95pts Hon
8. Justin Brayton 83pts Yam
9. James Stewart 75pts Suz
10. Matt Goerke 69pts KTM
11. Broc Tickle 68pts Suz
12. Mike Alessi 49pts Suz
13. Jake Weimer 48pts Kaw
14. Josh Grant 40pts Yam
15. Weston Peick 39pts Suz
16. Kyle Chisholm 37pts Yam
17. Matt Lemoine 34pts Kaw
18. Vince Friese 30pts Hon
19. Jimmy Albertson 29pts Hon
20. Robert Kiniry 23pts Yam

See you next weekend in Atlanta!

To stay up on all the latest, be sure to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.