Yamaha’s Hill Become 50th Rider to win an AMA Supercross Class Race

AURORA, Ill. (March 19, 2008) – In earning his first AMA Supercross class win last weekend at the Monster Energy® Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at Minneapolis’ Metrodome Yamaha’s Josh Hill, of Yoncalla, Ore., became the 50th racer in the sport’s rich history to accomplish this feat.

Hill began competing in the Western regional AMA Supercross Lites class in 2007, earning two podium finishes – Anaheim 2 and Seattle. This year Hill moved to the premier AMA Supercross class, scoring podium finishes at Anaheim 2 and Indianapolis before the major win at Minneapolis.

Throughout the decades, 50 riders have earned AMA Supercross class wins and the ’90s lead the way with 17 riders reaching this accomplishment. Following the ’90s is the ’70s with 14, the ’80s with 12 and ’00s with 7.

AMA Supercross Class Winners
Pierre Karsmakers-3/10/74-Daytona-Yamaha
Jim Pomeroy-3/15/74-Houston-Bultaco
Jaroslav Falta-6/22/74-LA-CZ
Jimmy Ellis-2/28/75-Dallas-Canam
Tony DiStefano-3/6/76-Daytona-Suzuki
Jimmy Weinert-3/12/76-Houston-Kawasaki
Marty Smith-3/27/76-Pontiac-Honda
Bob Hannah-3/5/77-Atlanta-Yamaha
Marty Tripes-3/4/78-Atlanta-Honda
Mike Bell-6/24/78-LA-Yamaha
Gaylon Mosier-11/11/78-Anaheim-Kawasaki
Steve Wise-6/2/79-New Orleans-Honda
Mark Barnett-7/14/79-LA-Suzuki
Kent Howerton-11/17/79-Anaheim-Suzuki
Chuck Sun-3/1/80-Atlanta-Honda
Rex Staten-3/8/80-Daytona-Yamaha
Broc Glover-3/15/80-Houston-Yamaha
Darrel Shultz-2/14/81-Seattle-Suzuki
Donnie Hansen-1/30/82-Anaheim-Honda
David Bailey-1/29/83-Anaheim-Honda
Ron Lechein-6/11/83-Orlando-Yamaha
Johnny O’mara-1/28/84-Anaheim-Honda
Jeff Ward-2/11/84-Seattle-Kawasaki
Rick Johnson-2/12/84-Seattle-Yamaha
Rick Ryan-3/7/87-Daytona-Honda
Jeff Stanton-2/25/89-Atlanta-Honda
Damon Bradshaw-1/27/90-Yamaha
Larry Ward-2/17/90-Seattle-Suzuki
Jeff Matasavich-3/17/90-Las Vegas-Kawasaki
Jean Michael Bayle-4/7/90-Dallas-Honda
Mike Larocco-5/14/91-Las Vegas-Suzuki
Doug Dubach-6/15/91-San Jose-Yamaha
Jeremy Mcgrath-1/23/93-Anaheim-Honda
Mike Kiedrowski-3/6/93-Daytona-Kawasaki
Mike Craig-2/12/94-Tampa-Yamaha
Doug Henry-4/29/95-Dallas-Honda
Jeff Emig-6/10/95-Las Vegas-Yamaha
Greg Albertyn-1/11/97-LA-Suzuki
Damon Huffman-2/22/97-Atlanta-Kawasaki
Ezra Lusk-3/29/97-Orlando-Yamaha
Kevin Whindham-4/19/97-Charlote-Yamaha
Sebastian Tortelli-1/10/98-LA-Kawasaki
John Dowd-4/18/98-Charlotte-Yamaha
David Vuillemin-1/22/00-San Diego-Yamaha
Ricky Carmicheal-3/10/00-Daytona-Kawasaki
Nathan Ramsey-4/13/02-St. Lois-Honda
Chad Reed-1/04/03-Anaheim-Yamaha
James Stewart-4/02/05-Dallas-Kawasaki
Davi Millsaps-2/23/08-Atlanta-Honda
Josh Hill-3/15/08-Minneapolis-Yamaha
For more information on the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross an FIM World Championship please log on to www.SupercrossOnline.com. For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig dennyhartwig@livenation.com or 630-566-6305.

Live Nation is the future of the music business. With the most live concerts, music venues and festivals in the world and the most comprehensive concert search engiine on the web, Live Nation is revolutionizing the music industry: onstage and online. Headquartered in Los Angeles, California, Live Nation is listed on the New York Stock Exchange, trading under the symbol “LYV.” Additional information about the company can be found at www.livenation.com under the “About Us” section.