Marc Rossiter, 18
Tulare, CA
Sponsors:  DT1, Mika Metals
 
Marc Rossiter had a strong weekend at the Central Cal Classic race at DT1 MX Park with clean sweep in the Intermediate 250F class.  Rossiter was putting in fast laps with smooth precision throughout the weekend.  Local to the track, he has definitely done his homework on how to string the sections together to get himself to the front of the pack.  We stopped by his pit to get to know him and find out what brings him out to the race.
 
 
 What brings you out to the Muscle Milk/Transworld Central Cal Classic?
It is about time we get a good race in Tulare, so I definitely wanted to come out.
 
How often are there races around the area? Most of the races around here are Over the Hill Gang races, so there isn’t much youth there.  I’d say one or two races per year that are worth going to.
 
How did you get started racing motocross?
My dad rode growing up, and starting when I was probably 2 years old, I was always sitting on his dirtbike wishing I was riding it.  Ever since then I was just brought up going through it.  I’ve been off and on a little, but I’m pretty much always here and going for it.
 
How old were you when you starting riding?
I started out riding when I was 4 years old on a PW50.
 
What makes you pick motocross over all of the other sports that are out there?
I’m competitive and I don’t like to rely on other people.  Knowing that when the gate drops, it is up to me to do good.  That’s what I like and it gives me a lot of self confidence and helps me with a lot of things.  It also is a way to get my anger out.
 
 
What has been your biggest accomplishment so far in motocross? My biggest accomplishment would probably be winning the Vurb Classic in the Novice class.  It was just so fun and was a good vibe to win.
 
Have you ever tried any of the amateur nationals? I raced the Dodge National, I was top 10 there in the Novice class.  I’ve qualified for the Intermediate class in Mammoth but never made it there unfortunately. 
 
What is your goal in motocross? As far as my goal, it would probably be to at least qualify for Hangtown or Glen Helen or somewhere local.  As far it being my life, I don’t see it going that far, just as a hobby.
 
What do you do for training?
Nothing, I work construction all day and that’s about it, but it keeps me in shape.
 
Does the full time job cut into your riding time as well? Yeah, since I work construction from 6am until 3 in the afternoon, and then I have to go home to get my bike and then come out to the track.  By that time I’m pretty worn out, but you gotta to do what you gotta do.
 
What other things do you do besides motocross? Just motocross, that’s all I am into.  I don’t really like any of the ball sports.  What it really comes down to is that I like anything racing.  I like racing go karts, there is a place near that you can go do that.  As far as sports, just motocross.
 
Have you ever gone down to any of the races in Southern California? Never been down there.  I’ve been up north, but never down to Southern California.  I am actually going next weekend though.